To Do List: 2016 Books to Read

Remember when you used to be able to read before bed without falling asleep on page 3?

I used to read all the time. I guess I still read all the time, it’s just Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site instead of Slaughterhouse-Five.

I go through spurts where I pick up the habit again, but without direction and accountability I find myself repeatedly falling off the wagon and not reading for months. We recently canceled cable and now that The Real Housewives is no longer calling my name, I decided I should compile a list of books to read before the end of 2016. And then actually read them.

So here it is: Some fiction, some nonfiction, some new, some I’ve read before. Six months and 12 books. Very doable, I think. In alphabetical order:

  1. A Man Called Ove, Fredrik Backman
  2. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
  3. I Know this Much is True, Wally Lamb
  4. Let Me Be a Woman, Elisabeth Elliot
  5. Making the “Terrible” Twos Terrific!, John Rosemond
  6. The Nightingale, Kristin Hannah
  7. On Becoming Preschoolwise, Gary Ezzo
  8. On Becoming Toddlerwise, Gary Ezzo
  9. Parent-Babble: How Parents Can Recover from Fifty Years of Bad Expert Advice, John Rosemond
  10. President Me: The America That’s in My Head, Adam Carolla
  11. The Screwtape Letters, C.S. Lewis
  12. Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions, Lysa TerKeurst
Leave a Reply

