Toddler/Preschooler Schedule: 22 & 42 Months

I wish I had written down the schedules my older two were doing at each age. I didn’t do it with Vera purposefully – as a first time mom I struggled a little with the balance between being schedule oriented and being anal retentive – and I found that writing down things like the amount of time it took her to fall asleep or the number of short naps she had pushed me over the edge into crazy. With Abel I was far more relaxed but failed to see the usefulness of recorded schedules for future children.

So I figure I might as well start now! Below are the general daily schedules for Abel (22 months) and Vera (42 months/3.5 years). They are extremely similar, but I am separating them so I can put a link to search for them individually on the “Sample Schedule” page.

In both cases, note that our days have a LOT of flux to them. For example, if I write that nap time is at 12:30pm, it could vary from 11:30am-1:00pm depending on the day. I don’t have this schedule printed out or anything – the timing just shows the general flow to our day. The only thing I am rigid about it our desired wake time (DWT). With exception to things like sickness or a housefire, both children are in their rooms until 7:00am. The early mornings are my time, and on this issue I do not waiver.

Abel’s Schedule (22 months)

Note that Abel is extremely flexible on sleep. Vera at this age still needed her nap at a specific time each day or she would short nap. Abel does fine within a pretty big range of nap start times. Lucky me!

7:15am DWT
Change out of diaper into underwear
Drink milk while I prepare breakfast
7:30am Breakfast
7:45am Help clean up breakfast and kitchen
8:00am Help with laundry and/or other household chores
8:30am Get dressed, brush teeth, sit on toilet to poop
Free play (usually plays with Vera)
9:00am Independent Playtime
10:00am Leave house (usually gym, errand, or park)
If we stay home, he plays outside in backyard with Vera
12:00pm Lunch
12:15pm Poop, change into diaper, read book
12:30pm Nap
3:30pm Up from nap
Change out of diaper into underwear
Free play with Vera (usually outside)
4:00pm Either leave house (gym or errand) or continue playing outside
5:30pm Dinner
Bath (these two are sometimes switched if Dad will be home early enough to eat dinner together)
6:30pm Brush teeth, change into diaper
Read books
6:45pm Bedtime

 

Vera’s Schedule (42 Months / 3.5 years)

7:00am DWT
Drink milk, spend time with Dad
7:30am Breakfast
7:45am Unload/load dishwasher
8:00am Help with laundry and/or other household chores
8:30am Get dressed, brush teeth
Free play (usually plays with Abel)
9:00am Independent Playtime
10:00am Leave house (usually gym, errand, or park)
If we stay home, she plays outside in backyard with Abel
12:00pm Lunch
12:15pm Poop, read book
12:30pm Nap
3:10pm Up from nap
Learning activity (right now we’re working on numbers)
3:30pm Free play with Abel (usually outside)
4:00pm Either leave house (gym or errand) or continue playing outside
5:30pm Dinner
Bath (these two are sometimes switched if Dad will be home early enough to eat dinner together)
6:30pm Brush teeth, change into diaper
Read books
7:00pm Bedtime. Ideally I like to be out of the room by 7, but more often it’s 7:15pm
01727385f1dfcd3f76d9213823b112d904e15b2e59.jpg
Abel & Vera at 22mo & 3.5yrs old. FYI Eddie got them dressed that morning.
Leave a Reply

