Twin Summary: 14 Weeks

This is the summary for the twins’ 15th week – they were 14 weeks old.

I’ll admit, the fussiness is really wearing on me. I’m trying to maintain perspective here and focus on the fact that they sleep SO MUCH and SO WELL, so I have lots of breaks throughout the day, but at times the fussiness is tough to take. They’re fed, they’re rested, they’re clean, and they’re sitting in a chair that bounces them ever so slightly. WHAT ELSE COULD THEY POSSIBLY WANT?

Truthfully, they are much more content than they were a month ago. I can see that we’re moving in the right direction. But it’s starting to seriously grind me down.

On a more positive note, naps were 100% spot on this week. I really don’t think they woke up early from even one nap (the large majority I have to wake them from). They are still sleeping 11-11.5hrs at night. They are sleeping about 18-19 hours a day.

I bet you’re reading this thinking now why is she complaining again? 

You’d be right. All things considered, life is peachy.

Schedule:
6:00-6:15am Wake, Feed
7:20am Nap 1
9:20am Wake, nurse
10:30am: Nap 2
12:30pm Wake, nurse
1:40pm Nurse, nap 3 (some days I nursed here and some I didn’t. Trying to figure out what works better)
3:40pm Wake, nurse
4:50pm Nap 4
5:30-5:45pm Wake, nurse
6:45pm Nurse, then in bed by 7pm

Where are we headed?
I’m starting to think about where we’re headed in terms of their schedule. They are napping perfectly, so there is no real NEED to mess with things, but I’m thinking about where I want to be in the next month or two and how I am going to get there. Here are my priorities:

  1. Move DWT (desired wake time) to 7:00am
  2. Drop from 4 naps to 3 naps
  3. Line the 2nd nap up with the older kids’ nap

I wrote out this schedule which I think satisfies all 3 of those requirements:

7:00am DWT
8:30am-11:00am Nap 1
12:30pm-3:00pm Nap 2
4:30pm-5:30pm Nap 3
7:00pm Bedtime

The part I’m having trouble with is the nursing schedule. Babywise suggests to always nurse after naps, but if I do that I’ll be on a 4 hour schedule. I know lots of moms nurse on a 4hr schedule just fine, but I’m too paranoid about milk supply with my twins to do that this early. So I was thinking I could nurse before and after every nap, but then I’m nursing only like 80 minutes apart. I don’t mind doing that, but I’m concerned it will lead to snack feeding and decrease their milk intake overall. Hm. I will have to think more about this.

For now I am going to start trying to push DWT to 7am and increase waketime from 70min to 80min.

Smiling:
Sam almost never smiles. I have seen him do it a few times before so I know it’s possible, but he just chooses not to. I am forbidding myself from googling this issue.

Separate Cribs:
I woke up one morning at 3am to one of them crying. I went in and found them both awake. Sam had rolled onto his back and Mercy had scooched herself over so she was lying right on top of his arm, pinning him down at the shoulder. I picked them off of each other, spread them out, and they went back to sleep without a peep. But that morning I decided it was time to separate them.

Oh sad day!

I’m blaming it on hormones, but I’m legitimately depressed about having to make this move. They are just so darn cute cuddling together that I think I’d convinced myself that they would sleep together forever.

Thankfully, they don’t seem to care even one bit. Both babies have been sleeping great in their own crib.

Nap Heaven:
This week I was at my mom’s one day and she was watching my two nieces who are 1 and 2.5 years old. So we had 6 kids there 3.5 and under. I got to her house with my 4 right after lunch and we immediately jumped into putting the kids down for naps. We had to take them potty, read them books, nurse the babies, and get everyone down for a nap. We worked quickly and in about 20 minutes we went from the chaos of 6 loud kids to complete peace and quiet. My mom and I sat on the couch, sipped coffee, chit-chatted, and gave ourselves one big pat on the back. Six kids all sleeping at the same time? This must be nap heaven.

5 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 14 Weeks

  1. It’s great how you’ve organized the babies’ schedule. I also used Babywise and found it extremely helpful! You seem to be doing a great job of creating a wonderful, peaceful environment for the entire family.

    Like

  2. So happy to find your blog! Like you, I cannot live without a schedule and am about to go crazy with my 13 week old twins. I used BabyWise with my first and have been attempting it with my twins, but at this point, my sleep deprivation is getting the best of me and I need a little help. Your schedules let me know we are on the right track. 🙂

    Curious, do you have a bedtime/naptime routine? How do you put them down? What do you do if they protest going to sleep? So sorry if you’ve addressed these things already but I’m having trouble finding!

    Thanks for taking the time to write this blog! Your experience (and sense of humor) have helped me so much already!

    Like

    • Hi Rebecca- I’m so glad this has been helpful to you! To start off with some encouragement, it gets SO MUCH BETTER. Keep working on the routine bit by bit and things will come together.

      In the beginning (I think until they were on 3 naps a day) I followed the eat, wake, sleep cycle – meaning I did not nurse before naps. At some point I started nursing before and after naps, so that became part of the routine (I don’t nurse to sleep… they are totally awake when I put them down). But looking back at the schedule for 14 weeks, I hadn’t started nursing before naps yet. I did, however, nurse before bed. So before naps, the routine would be to go in the room, shut the shutters, turn on the white noise, put them down (I sleep them on their bellies) and walk out. At night the routine would be to put them in their sleep sacs, shut the shutters, nurse, burp, turn on the white noise, and put them down. I intentionally kept the “routine” very, very basic because it had to be as quick as possible (because like you, I have others!).

      If they protested sleep, I let them cry. I actually did that from the very beginning, so by the time they were 14 weeks there just wasn’t much crying going on at all. Protesting a nap would be rare. But it definitely took some upfront work. There were times that I would just let them cry until they fell asleep and there were other times I would go in periodically and pat their butt or pick them up for a minute and then put them down again. I just went with my gut on what would be most helpful in that moment. I know listening to any baby cry is hard, but in the end it was totally worth it.

      One other thing I would note: I always put them down for a nap when the first baby was ready for a nap. There was one baby that seemed to need a shorter wake time (which I knew because suddenly he would go from laying contently in his bouncer to whining to crying) and I just put them both down then. The other twin just had to learn to lay there in the dark until she was tired enough to fall asleep. Everything to keep them on the same schedule, right??

      Good luck mama! Let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you so much! And let me just say, the fact that you take the time to help out other moms when you most definitely already have enough on your plate, is extremely selfless and kind of you! Thank you!

        My boys fight naps like crazy! I try so hard to make sure to get them down before they’re overtired. If they spend their “nap time” crying, do I take them out of the crib at the same time each day or wait until after they’ve actually been asleep for the length of time the nap was supposed to be? I’ve got one that almost always wakes after only about 20 minutes and wakes the other. What should I do in this situation? Either I will have two unhappy babies or one well-rested and the other overtired??? Ugh! Life with twins!

        Thanks again!

        Like

        • I think at some point all twins have to learn to sleep through the other crying. Do you have a white noise machine in the room? We have one right in between the two cribs. I would not remove a crying baby from the room just to keep the other from waking – and I think over time both will learn to sleep through the other’s crying (for the most part). Incidentally, I find that mine will sleep through the other one crying but will not sleep through me coming into the room to remove the crying baby 🙂

          I think if it were me, I would try an extended period of naps “by the clock” where you leave them for a set amount of time (maybe 2 hours – or 90 minutes, if you feel more comfortable with that). If they cry 20 minutes, fall asleep for 20 minutes, then wake up crying again, you still leave them there until at least the 90 minute mark. I think the consistency is key here in getting them to nap for longer periods.

          Hope that helps!! I’m happy to “pay it forward” as there were many people who helped me along!

          Like

Leave a Reply

