Friday Favorites

What a great week this was. I’m just so thankful for the time I get to spend at home with these four kiddos. Life is good. Here are just a few Friday Favorites to peruse as we head into this much anticipated three day weekend.

The Best I Read:

>>This article on how the perceived risk of  leaving kids alone (think Free Range Parenting) has dramatically increased even though the actual risk has not. It’s pretty long but very interesting and I almost want to print it out and send it to a few judgey moms I know.

The Best I Watched:

>>My friend Rachel suggested I watch the Netflix series Making a Murderer. It’s an entire series on Steven Avery, the Wisconsin man who served 18 years in prison for a rape he didn’t commit. Two years after being released he was arrested again – this time for murder. I won’t say any more, lest I spoil it for you. On Sunday morning I found myself awake at 4:30am and decided to give it a try. I ended up watching 7 episodes that day!

(HOLD THE cooking, cleaning, and laundry, I’ve got some binge watching to do). Eddie and I finished it up mid week and neither of us can stop thinking about it!

The Best I Made:

>>RU217951.jpg.rendition.largestThis Sweet Potato and Chorizo Lasagna was a nice spin on the traditional. I couldn’t find a white cheddar at the store, so I used a combo of Havarti and Gouda, since that’s what I had on hand. The next time I make it I will thin the sauce with more milk, maybe 2c. instead of the 1-1/4 they suggest. Perhaps the issue is that I was using whole milk, I don’t know. Either way, the combination of tastes was wonderful and even my husband, who typically dislikes when I try to get all cute and gourmet with traditional food (it’s classic for a reason, he argues) enjoyed it.

 

Happy three day weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. That lasagna looks delicious! Last Christmas we had a lasagna competition and it was a huge hit. I might make this one next time we do that! YUM.

    Like

Leave a Reply

