Twin Summary: 17 Weeks (4 Months)

One evening this week I was making dinner while the babies were napping and the other two were playing in Abel’s room. I could hear them in there absolutely erupting with laughter. I had no idea what they were doing, but it was obviously tons of fun. I stayed in the kitchen listening to their joy and thanking God for the special relationship those two are forming. After about fifteen minutes I decided to walk down the hall and see what they were up to.

I opened the door to find them pelting each other with two large dirty diapers that I had asked them to throw away when I last changed the babies. Instead of doing that, they had snuck the diapers (full of poop) into Abel’s room and were having the time of their lives running around the room hurling the dirty diapers at each other’s faces, spilling over with laughter in between outbursts of “ewwwwww!”

No signs of E. coli yet.

This is a summary for the babies’ 18th week – they were 17 weeks old.

Nursing:
Nursing is good. Still fitting in 6 nursing sessions a day.

Naps:
Naps are still great. I wake them from about 90% of naps. They are taking a 2 hour nap, a 3 hour nap, and a 1 hour nap.

Night Time Sleep:
Half of the mornings this week they slept into my goal morning wake time of 7am. The other half they woke earlier but I did not go in and nurse them until 6:45am.

Schedule:
The schedule is nearly perfect. I mean, it will be nice when there is more time awake in between the morning and afternoon nap so we can do things, but as it is, an hour and a half is enough time for a quick trip to the park or the store. Here’s what we did:

6:45am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:10am Nap 1
10:30am Wake, nurse (2)
12:00pm Nurse (3), then down for Nap 2
3:00pm Wake, nurse (4)
4:30pm Nap 3
5:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
6:45pm Nurse (6), then straight to bed at 7pm

Running Errands:
The babes are officially too heavy for my twin carrier. We went to Walmart this week to pick up a few things and by the time we got back to the car I thought I might literally crumble into a ball on the pavement. I have no idea how heavy they are at this point, but it’s more than I can handle.

For the rest of our errands this week I kept Mercy in her car seat and put that in the cart. I wore Sam in the ergo. He feels light as a feather after being used to carrying them both!

Speaking of errands at Walmart, for some reason no one ever offers to help me there. I mean, I don’t set out to the store expecting people to help me – I am fully capable of doing it myself – but the fact is, when people see me trying to grocery shop with four little kids, two of which are hanging off my chest, they feel bad for me. It’s not uncommon for someone to offer to help me get something heavy off the shelf or out from under the bottom of my cart. Sometimes people even offer to return my cart for me once I load everything up in the car! It’s pretty much like I’m royalty.

Anyway, I’ve noticed that NEVER happens at Walmart. Like for example this week when I was trying to heave seven 16 gallon storage containers and a case of beer up onto the conveyor belt with my two-baby carrier on. Both the person in front of and behind me in line just stood there watching me stuggle. That’s the S.O.P. for Walmart shoppers. At Target, Food 4 Less, or pretty much anywhere else I can think of people bend over backwards to help me, but nope – not at Walmart. Interesting right?

Rolling:

IMG_2089.JPG
Mercy’s version of tummy time

Mercy went from not rolling at all to rolling in both directions this week. Now that she can roll, she loves to flip on her belly and just lay there with her thumb in her mouth. I’m sure that’s what the doctor means when he asks if she’s getting lots of tummy time, right?

Smiling:
Sam still never smiles. He pretty much still hates life.

Naps on the go:
This week MOPs started up again. I wasn’t sure how to handle it because the meeting is right during the babies’ nap time. This was true when I had Abel also, but with only one baby, napping in a Moby wrap was possible. I ended up deciding to bring a pack n play with me and set it up in the back of the room with a blanket over it. They fell asleep easily but woke up after only an hour or so – presumably because the room got quiet when the person speaking went up on stage. When they woke up I fed them, held one and passed the other one around, and then put them down again after another hour. They went to sleep quickly again and slept until it was time to go!

Next time I think I will bring one of our battery operated white noise machines to address the sound issue.

I think people thought I was kind of nuts for being so anal about naps that I would bring a pack n play with me to a MOPs meeting, but those people don’t have twins. Think what you want. Trying to hold TWO overtired and fussy babies is a nightmare and I’m willing to go to significant lengths to prevent it.

That’s it for this week, folks. Off to a labor day BBQ!

IMG_2094

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

How Much I Paid for These Twins

Dear Aldi: I Hate You

 

3 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 17 Weeks (4 Months)

  1. You are a wise, amazing Mom! I love how practical you are and how you saw the humor in the “Poopy Diaper Fight”. 🙂 I promise to help you if I run into you at Walmart. Shame on those other people for watching you struggle and not lending a hand!

    Like

  2. Hey Cole– This is pretty off topic but…what kind of carrier did you use for your twins (before they became too heavy)? Do you recommend even getting a twin carrier? I need all the options I can find for getting future twins + myself + two-year-old out of the house (sometimes??). Any pros or cons of using a twin carrier would be great. Thank you!

    Like

    • Hey Erin-

      I had a twin carrier (weego) but honestly I don’t think it’s worth the price. I used it but not nearly enough to make it worth it. They had grown out of it by 4mo.

      What I did most often is leave one baby in the car seat and put that directly in the big part of the cart, then carry one baby in a single carrier (I use the ergo most often). Then my 1 and 3 year old walked. In the parking lot my 1 and 3 year old hold on to the side of the cart and I push them. Now that the twins are bigger, I put one in the seat part of the cart and one in the ergo.

      I would really focus on getting your 2 year old well practiced at walking longer distances and staying right by your side in the stores and in the street so when the babies come you don’t have to hassle with putting them in a stroller.

      As for double strollers, a double snap and go is a MUST, in my opinion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

