Twin Summary: 18 Weeks

783db8814ef62c8160d3938925a972a0

This is a summary for the babies’ 19th week – they were 18 weeks old.

Nursing:
Still fine. I posted an update here. One weird thing is that my boobs have been more (painfully) full in the mornings lately. Maybe the babes are drinking more during the day so my supply is up.

Naps:
Naps were nearly perfect. There were two days that they struggled with the 3rd nap, but I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing – it means they are moving in the direction of dropping that nap. I will continue putting them down for it until they stop taking it completely, I think.

Otherwise, I wake them from most naps. One day on the weekend I got really into the book I was reading and lost track of time. When I looked at the clock I realized they had been sleeping 3 hours and 40min for their afternoon nap. Their napping seems to have no limits. Very strange and unbaby like. But what a blessing for me!

Nights:
They stopped waking early. They are now quiet until I go in to feed them at 7am. When I go in at 7, they are often times awake but just looking around. Getting them up in the morning might be my favorite time of day.

Schedule:
A few weeks ago I had identified some goals in terms of their schedule. They were as follows:

  1. Move DWT (desired wake time) to 7:00am
  2. Drop from 4 naps to 3 naps
  3. Line the 2nd nap up with the older kids’ nap

This week I finally finished the slow move of their DWT to 7am. They are on 3 naps and on days that I am able to get the older kids down for a nap by noon, their naps line up perfectly. Mission accomplished.

7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:20am Nap 1
10:30am Wake, nurse (2)
12:00pm Nurse (3), then down for Nap 2
3:00pm Wake, nurse (4)
4:30pm Nap 3
5:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
6:50pm Nurse (6), then straight to bed at 7pm

My new goals for their schedule are as follows:

  1. Move the second nap later (probably to 1pm)
  2. Drop the 3rd nap

The timeline for accomplishing those goals is within the next 1-2 months.

Solids:
I was remembering this week that I started feeding Abel solid foods at 4 months. I can’t remember why exactly… I think he just never seemed to love milk so I thought I would try solid food. I assumed it would take a few weeks or months for him to get the hang of it, but he ended up taking to it right away. There was no teaching or practice necessary. I put a spoon in front of his face and he knew to open his mouth for the spoon and how to push the food back with his tongue to swallow – no learning curve with him. I don’t remember what food I started with – probably avocado – but within a very short period of time I had ditched the puree idea and was just putting soft hunks of food on his tray. This was nice because I really hate the concept of baby food. Unnecessary work, in my opinion.

Anyway, back to the babies. I was thinking how strange it was that I clearly felt Abel was “ready” for solid food at 4 months but these ones don’t seem even remotely close. Mercy can barely hold her head up still! Sam is much stronger, but still seems less advanced somehow. So we’ll wait. No timeline – just waiting to see what happens. I want to say it’ll be after the 6 month mark, but things change so quickly with babies – perhaps they will be ready before that.

Watching me, watching each other:
The last few weeks they’ve been quite obsessed with me, staring constantly and following me around the room with their eyes. I feel very popular! Anyway, this week they started occasionally diverting their attention from what I’m doing to stare straight at each other. It’s pretty cute.

And even cuter than that was yesterday afternoon when I caught them laying on the blanket holding hands. Twins are just the greatest.

IMG_2147 (2).JPG

 

Leave a Reply

