Twin Summary: 22 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 23rd week – they were 22 weeks old.

Nursing:
Nursing went back to being great this week. I’ve overcome my anxiety about their weight and am actually enjoying nursing them again instead of spending the whole time worrying about how much they’re getting or frantically googling ways to force a baby to eat more when they don’t want to.

In even bigger news, we finally got to a point where I can nurse them pillow free. WA-HOO! I hold Mercy in cradle position and Sam in football, with his legs kind of wrapped around behind me. I’m sure it looks very weird. I try to avoid doing it in front of Eddie because I think it detracts from the sexiness I’m so desperately trying to cling onto. There’s a lot working against a mom of four littles, but I’m doing my darnedest to make sure he still sees me the way I was when we got into this mess. Laying around in the open nursing like a dairy cow sure wouldn’t be doing me any favors. But OH THE FREEDOM of no pillows!

Sleep:
Their sleep was pretty good this week. There were two nights again where I nursed them in the middle of the night. I’m not sure it was necessary but due to some terrible insomnia I was awake anyway so I figured why not. The last two nights of the week I went in at 9pm and nursed them instead of pumping. Part of me hates doing that because I’d rather not create a habit when they had previously been sleeping through the night, but I also secretly love it. They are so sleepy and they just cuddle right up and nurse. It’s just SO MUCH BETTER than pumping that I think I may try it every day next week and see what happens.

Their naps were perfect. I’ve started the transition to 2 naps. Half of the days they did 2 naps and half of the days they did 3. I didn’t really plan it this way – I’m more of a cold turkey kind of girl and I hate unnecessarily lengthening out transitions – but we had a few things come up this week that made the 3-nap schedule work better than the 2-nap schedule, so I just did whatever was easier for that day.

Schedule:
Because we alternated, I’ll post both schedules:

3-Nap Schedule:
6:30am-7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:15am-8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
10:30am Wake, nurse (3)
12:30pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
3:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
5:00pm Nurse (6), then down for Nap 3
5:45pm Wake, nurse (7)
7:00pm Nurse (8), then straight to bed

2-Nap Schedule:
6:30am-7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:15am-8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
1:15pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
6:00pm Nurse (6)
6:45pm Nurse (7), then straight to bed

Solids:
I tried pureed banana a few times this week. Sam was sort of interested. Mercy was not. Neither ingested more than about a teaspoon.

Crawling:
No, neither baby is crawling. But Sam started doing this thing where he gets up on his elbows and knees and rocks back and forth. I think I remember Abel doing that right before he learned to crawl. MY GOSH I hope he’s not going to be an early crawler. I need these babies to remain immobile for as long as possible.

Insomnia:
I had terrible insomnia this week. Terrible. One night I didn’t even fall asleep at all. You can probably imagine what it’s like to watch 4 kids all day after pulling an all-nighter. I’ve been rotating between tylenol pm, melatonin, dramamine, and ambien, but none of those things (or even a combination of those things) can get me to sleep more than a couple of hours. It’s been rough. Today I went to the doctor and she prescribed Trazodone. I am really hoping it works. Can you die from lack of sleep?  I don’t know. I’ll tell you what I do know though: more waking hours does NOT equal a cleaner house. You’d think with all my 11pm-3am free time I’d have no dirty dishes, totally organized closets, and floors so clean you could lick ’em, but alas, I was a failure of a housewife this week and I’m so embarrassed I probably wouldn’t even let my mom come over.

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

Twin Summary: 21 Weeks

One thought on “Twin Summary: 22 Weeks

Leave a Reply

