Bible Study Review: Creative Counterpart

Our in-home bible study just wrapped up our second book:

creative-counterpartCreative Counterpart: Becoming the Woman, Wife, and Mother You’ve Longed to Be
By Linda Dillow

Like pretty much all books on this subject, Dillow starts off with the “blueprint” for Christian wives – the Proverbs 31 woman. She then spends one chapter on each of the main attributes a Godly wife should have, from time-management to unconditional acceptance of our husbands, from submission to being a “creative lover” (which was obviously our favorite chapter to discuss).

What I loved most about this book was the discussions it started. There was SO MUCH practical application and each week I felt like I walked away with a game plan for improving a specific aspect of my marriage. Had I read it on my own, I think I would have liked it, but I would have been missing out on a lot in terms of being able to see how the qualities of a Godly wife actually play out in someone’s marriage. Each of the ladies in our group seemed to excel in some areas and struggle in others, and by talking it out each week and using examples from our own marriages, we were able to easily visualize how a good marriage is supposed to work.

In the last chapter of the book, Dillow suggests that we identify both our areas of competency and the areas where we need some work. She suggests that we write out a yearly schedule wherein we diligently work on one area per month. For example, we may spend the whole month of January working on accepting our husband for who he is now, the month of February working on spicing up our sex life, and the month of March on returning insults with a blessing. I LOVE this idea! Instead of making one single new year’s resolution this year, I am drafting up a schedule for myself to work on one aspect of my marriage each month in 2017.

Dillow is very real and comes across very likable in Creative Counterpart. She shares many personal stories that were totally relatable for me. Submission is always a touchy subject for women but I feel like she handled it well – she explained the concept thoroughly and honestly, and the discussions that sprung from that chapter were fruitful.

The only downside of the book was that it was heavily practical application and less an intensive study of the bible. She definitely backed up what she was saying with biblical evidence, but it just didn’t make you pour into the Word like a more traditional bible study might.

I have absolutely no reservations giving this book 5 out 5 stars because of the positive influence it’s had on my marriage. There were multiple “ah-ha!” moments for me throughout and I am undoubtedly a better wife for having read this and put her suggestions into practice.

Next up we’re reading and doing the accompanying workbook for Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges. Hopefully we’ll love it just as much!

RELATED POSTS:

Bible Study Review: Walking With God in the Season of Motherhood

Mornings with Elisabeth Elliot

2 thoughts on “Bible Study Review: Creative Counterpart

  1. Goodness, every time I read your blog, I feel like I come away inspired! Love that your group read that books. We so often focus on our role as mothers and forget our role as wives! I loved Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges. He’s one of my favorites. Hopefully your group will love it too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • HA! It’s hard to believe that I could inspire YOU… I pretty much just try to copy everything I see you do. You had a bible study at your house, I started a bible study at my house… and so on. You’d better walk a straight line Megan – you have followers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

