Twin Summary: 24 Weeks

IMG_2373.JPG

This is a summary for the babies’ 25th week – they were 24 weeks old.

Nursing:
Mercy is still forcing a shallow latch a lot of the time. She takes her arms and pushes against my chest so my boob is all yanked back. Is she trying to get more milk? I don’t know. I can just feel my breast tissue tearing and my boobs getting saggier and saggier each time she does it. Boo, hoo.

Otherwise, nursing is great. I nurse about a third of the time with the nursing pillow and 2/3 without.

Sleeping:
This was the first week that I’d say I really FELT the twin thing. When both babies sleep and eat well, having infant twins just isn’t that much different than having one baby. But when the sleep is wonky… OUCH. Things were just really out of sync this week. My suspicion is that they’ve outgrown 3 naps a day but yet aren’t fully ready to drop down to 2 naps. I keep flipping back and forth because one day they seem ready and the next they don’t, but clearly the inconsistency is negatively impacting their sleep – in the form of short naps and early waking.

I am 80% sure the answer is to move to a 2-nap “by the clock” schedule. In order to make that work, I’m going to have to deal with some fussiness – specifically in between the am and pm nap. If I put them down at the first sign of fussy, it will be too early for only 2 naps. Oh well, it’s gotta get done.

Schedule:
I pretty much did the same thing as last week, going back and forth between 3 naps and 2 naps. Unfortunately a couple of the 3 nap days, they refused the 3rd nap which really made the stretch until bedtime TOUGH. But this is what we were aiming for:

2-Nap Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
1:15pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
6:00pm Nurse (6)
6:45pm Nurse (7), then straight to bed
9:00pm(ish) Dreamfeed (8)

3-Nap Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
10:30-11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
1:00pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
3:30pm Wake, nurse (5) – (We are forced into 3 naps when they wake before 4pm)
5:00pm Nurse (6), then down for Nap 3
5:45pm Wake, nurse (7)
7:00pm Nurse (8), then straight to bed
9:00pm(ish) Dreamfeed (9)

Solids:
They are making VERY slow progress with eating solids. I did discover that they do better with thicker foods (think potato texture, not pureed banana texture) but really they consume very little. It’s weird to have babies like this after my experience with the last two (they took to solids almost immediately!). Oh well, no pressure, they aren’t even 6 months yet.

Crawling?
Sam really appears to be close to crawling. Does that really happen to 5 month olds? It sounds terrible. I hate the crawling phase. He basically gets up on his hands and knees and scoots forward. If he were actually interested in reaching a destination (like a toy in front of him) I’m convinced he would have no problem getting there. At this point neither baby really cares about toys. Sam is also sitting for brief periods of time. He’s kind of a spaz though – he will be sitting calmly and then just throw his entire body back – so I can’t leave him that way unattended. Mercy is still a floppy noodle. No signs of sitting, crawling, or muscular definition whatsoever.

In other, unrelated news, we had probably our last beach day of the year and one morning I walked in on the babies full on making out. One for the baby books! Or not.

img_2386
Beach Day
IMG_2371.JPG
Make Out

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

Twin Summary: 23 Weeks

Twin Summary: 25 Weeks

One thought on “Twin Summary: 24 Weeks

Leave a Reply

