Twin Summary: 25 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 26th week. They were 25 weeks old.

Let me just tell you. Two sick babies is NO JOKE. The babies caught a cold this week – and it wasn’t even a bad one – but holy cow did it make life more difficult. Their stuffy noses required them to make a choice between sucking their thumbs and continuing to breathe. Without the ability to suck their fingers, sleep was elusive. Sometimes one would wake up crying and it would wake up the other. Other times one would stay asleep and I would agonize over whether to wake them and nurse together or leave the sleeping one asleep (so they could inevitably wake up 15 minutes after I got the first one back down). It was such a mess!

There were lots of moments where both babies wanted to be held at the same time – and of course, when you have a sick kid, you WANT to be able to hold them and comfort them! – but realistically you can’t get anything done while you’re holding two babies. Yet life goes on: butts have to be wiped, lunches have to be made, squabbles have to be addressed. So there was a lot of crying, a lot of guilt, and a lot of snot this week.

It was a bummer.

Nursing:
My nipples got a little sore this week. I thought it was from Mercy’s shallow latch problem I mentioned last week, but then I felt in Sam’s mouth and realized a tooth had popped through. He was breaking that thing in by grazing its sharp edge on my nipple. Things have improved in the last day or two.

I feel like I have a lot of milk now. It must be because I’m nursing a time or two at night (since they are sick). I guess there’s one benefit to their cold.

Sleeping:
As discussed above, sleep was rough. I mean, in the scheme of my angel-baby, hyper-scheduled sleepers, sleep was rough. In reality they probably slept like regular 6 month olds. They took 2-3 naps a day and woke 1-2 times at night. Some mornings they woke up early (like 5:30am – UGH) and other mornings they slept through until 7am.

Eating:
I offered solids 2x a day this week – once around lunch time and once around dinner time. I don’t really measure but I’d guess they ate about 1-2 ounces a day each. Sam is definitely showing improvement but Mercy is still struggling. I am glad I decided to start working on solids when I did – it looks like this may take a while to become a substantial part of their diet.

As for what I feed them – it’s pretty much just whatever vegetable we’re having with dinner. I run it through the immersion blender and voila! baby food. At lunch I either do applesauce or banana mixed with oatmeal cereal (mostly just to give it a thicker texture, which they seem to like better). I’ve also tried beans and egg yolk, neither of which they were that pumped about. Look kids, if you’re going to be part of this household, you’re going to have to learn to like beans. We eat them 4x a week!

Schedule:
The schedule this week was the same as last week – a flip flop back and forth between 2 and 3 naps. Once they’re over this cold, I hope to go full force ahead with the 2 naps. I’m so over three naps.

2-Nap Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
1:15pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
4:00-4:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
6:00pm Nurse (6)
6:45pm Nurse (7), then straight to bed
9:00pm(ish) Dreamfeed (8)

3-Nap Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
8:30am Nurse (2), then down for Nap 1
10:30-11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
1:00pm Nurse (4), then down for Nap 2
3:30pm Wake, nurse (5) – (We are forced into 3 naps when they wake before 4pm)
5:00pm Nurse (6), then down for Nap 3
5:45pm Wake, nurse (7)
7:00pm Nurse (8), then straight to bed
9:00pm(ish) Dreamfeed (9)

RELATED POSTS:

Twin Summary: 24 Weeks

Sample Schedules

Leave a Reply

