Twin Summary: 27 Weeks

This week is kind of a blur. I spent far too much time scrolling through Facebook reading what my friends and acquaintances had to say about the election. What a complete waste of time. On the other hand, quite entertaining. It was almost like Facebook and theonion.com teamed up to produce and disseminate the most absurd articles and personal statements you could think of. I just couldn’t resist!

But life goes on. This week, LESS FACEBOOK.

This is a summary for the babies’ 28th week. They were 27 weeks old.

Nursing:
Nursing is good. Same old same old.

Naps:
Naps were great this week. Two naps a day totaling around 5-5.5 hours. The afternoon nap perfectly aligns with the older two kids’ naps. Could life be better?

Nights:
Mercy woke up at 3:30am on the dot 4 nights this week. How weird! Three of the nights I didn’t intervene and she went back to sleep relatively quickly. One of the nights she woke with a piercing scream – very different than anything I’d heard from her before. I went in immediately, got her up and gave her some ibuprofen, rocked her a little bit and put her back down. She cried for a couple of minutes and then fell back asleep. I’m still not sure where the pain was coming from… I don’t see any teeth erupting. Gas maybe?  Strangely, I got called out of church for the first time on Sunday because they said Mercy did the same painful cry. As soon as I picked her up she stopped. It hasn’t happened since. Hm.

Sam didn’t wake up any of the 4 nights she woke. How is that even possible? Twins are the best sleepers.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
7:30am(ish) Breakfast (purees – like 2oz)
8:40am Nurse (2), then nap 1 at 8:50
10:30-11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
12:00pm(ish) Lunch (purees – 1oz)
1:00pm Nurse (4), then nap 2 by 1:15pm
4:00pm-4:30pm Wake, nurse (5)
5:30pm Nurse (6) – sometimes I only nurse Sam here. Mercy doesn’t seem to want to nurse, but I do offer.
5:45pm(ish) Dinner (purees 2oz)
6:45pm Nurse (7) then in bed at 7pm
No dream feed or MOTN feedings

Solids:
They have really turned a corner with the eating. Both are doing a pretty good job of actually swallowing the food, rather than just spitting it out. Sam likes food better than Mercy. He probably eats double what she does.

I do my best to give solids right after nursing so I know they aren’t eating food at the expense of their milk intake, but it’s not always realistic to do it immediately after – especially at lunch time. There’s just too much going on with the other kids at that time. I do my best.

6 Month Well Check:
The 6mo well check was this week. Sam has continued along the same growth curve (1st percentile) but Mercy has moved up in percentile. This was no surprise – she LOOKS bigger. She weighs almost 10% more than he does, which I attribute to the fact that he is rolling and wiggling 100% of the time he’s awake while she just lays in one spot without moving. He must burn far more calories than her.

Anyway, doc says I’ve got two healthy babies here. Whew!

That’s it for 27 weeks!

sisters.jpg
Sisters

RELATED POSTS:

Twin Summary: 26 Weeks (6 Months)

Sample Schedules

Babywise Is More Than Just Sleep

 

Leave a Reply

