Twin Summary: 28 Weeks

This has nothing to do with twins, but I just had to write about how AWESOME the rain was this morning.

We live in drought-ridden Southern California, so I honestly don’t even know if my 2 year old can remember the last time it rained. If he does, it in no way muted the complete and utter THRILL of playing outside in the rain this morning. I opened up the garage door and did laundry while the kids ran around in the front yard – soggy, wet, and absolutely overjoyed.

Most of the time I fall prey to the “grass is greener” syndrome, but in this case, I just don’t think children who live in a place where it frequently rains could ever possibly match the level of delight that my San Diego kids experience when we finally get some weather. It was pretty epic.

This is a summary for the babies’ 29th week. They were 28 weeks old.

Nursing:
This weekend I went to see The Sound of Music with Vera and left the babes with Eddie for their first bottle. I was far more nervous about this than was reasonable. I mean, what did I think was going to happen? Even if they had refused all milk and all food, six hours is not long enough for a baby to starve.

In any case, they did great. They only drank an ounce and a half each (so, not great) but they eagerly ate their lunch and dinner and were mostly content the whole day. Whew!

I was also concerned that my boobs would explode if I wasn’t able to pump while I was there. I have a pump but no battery pack for it, so I needed access to an outlet. The musical was in an old theater with no nursing room, women’s lounge, or anything of the sort, but some incredibly considerate manager let me use her personal office to pump during intermission. I couldn’t believe it!

So that all went swimmingly. What isn’t going swimmingly is the repeated nipple biting from two-toothed Sammy. I am unsure how to handle it. I don’t want to react in a way that will scare Mercy but I need to get the NO BITING message across to Sam. Any suggestions?

Naps:
Naps are great. We are in a good two nap groove. I anticipate us staying on this general schedule for at least the next 6 months.

Nights:
Nights are also good. One of them (I’m actually not even sure which!) cries out every single morning at some point between 3am-4am. It wakes me  up and I get out of bed to go listen at the door and see who it is, but by the time I get there it’s stopped. I’d say “very weird” except that I remember Abel doing the exact same thing… for the entire first year of life.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse (1)
7:30am(ish) Breakfast
8:45am-11:00am Nurse (2), then Nap
11:00am Wake, nurse (3)
12:00pm(ish) Lunch
1:00pm-4:00pm Nurse (4), then Nap
4:00pm Wake, nurse (5)
5:30pm Sometimes nurse, sometimes don’t
5:45pm(ish) Dinner
6:45pm Nurse (7) then in bed at 7pm
No dream feed or MOTN feedings

Solids:
They are doing great with their eating now. I am still doing mostly purees, but am pureeing it less and am sometimes offering tiny chunks of food (like soft chicken or whatever).

The food has started some constipation issues for Mercy. I am combating that by giving her prunes every few days. That has been working.

Feeding them is pretty time consuming. It’s not that either of them eat particularly slowly (they are actually quite fast) but I mean, there are two of them. It can also be unpleasant at times because they both want to eat but I can only do one bite at a time. One sees the spoon going into the other’s mouth and protests. I go back and forth between feeding one baby at a time and feeding them together (alternating bites). I am planning to start offering them large chunks of soft foods (whole bananas, etc.) soon so I can just plop it down on the table and let them feed themselves. This spoon feeding thing is TOO MUCH WORK.

Sitting Up:
Both babies can sit up for brief periods if they are holding onto some sort of toy to keep them balanced. However, they get very, very little practice doing this because they aren’t safe to leave in the sitting position and I just don’t have a ton of time to sit on the ground helping them along. The most practice they get is sitting up in the grocery cart.

That’s it for this week. I’m hosting Thanksgiving this year so… let the chaos begin.

IMG_2512.JPG

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

Twin Summary: 27 Weeks

 

9 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 28 Weeks

  1. My Sammy was the biter too! Since I feed both girls at the same time, I put Sammy down until Ali was done. Then I would finish feeding her. She did not like waiting until her sister was done, but biting is no joke, especially with two of them nursing! It took about a day for her to get the message. Just one suggestion, I know there are many ways to handle it. 🙂

    Like

  2. I wonder if you need to nurse them separately for a little (I know, I know…) and just SCREAM when he bites you. I think it would only take once or twice before he got it. Both of mine bit maybe once or twice and I reacted very strongly and then they never did it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is what I did with Vera and Abel – I just hesitate to do it with Sam because I don’t want to scare Mercy too. So the answer might be nursing them separately for a while… but UGH who has the time?! I suppose I’ll have to make time!

      Like

  3. Hi Cole, I just have a question about your twin’s schedule and feeding times. Do they sleep better when they nurse both before and after naps? Just curious if it helps them nap longer or maintains your supply better or whatever. Sorry if you already explained this somewhere else on your blog! I’m just storing things away mentally until our twin’s arrive, so I want to know all the possible tricks. 😉

    Like

    • Hi Erin-

      The answer to your question is BOTH! With my older two (singletons) I nursed after naps until they were on a 2 nap schedule, and then I nursed before AND after naps. I found that they slept better when they had a full belly. With the twins, I started nursing before and after naps before they were on a 2 nap schedule because their weight gain was questionable at the 4 month well check and I needed to get them to eat more. I do remember reading in “Mothering Multiples” (the LLL book on twins) that twin moms typically need to nurse more frequently during the day to keep their supply up. I think it said that a mother of a singleton might need to nurse 8-12 a day for the first 6mo or whatever but a twin mom needs to nurse 10-14 times a day. I have found that to be true – not necessarily the specific number of times (10-14) but just that in order to keep my supply adequate for twins (especially after they started STTN), I need to nurse more frequently than I would if it were just one baby.

      My advice to you would be to start off nursing after naps only – as newborns they have so little waketime that you are still nursing them quite often if you are only nursing after naps. The problem with nursing a newborn before naps is that they use it as a sleep prop – they fall asleep nursing and don’t learn to put themselves to sleep. Once your twins are a little older and more awake, you can nurse them before naps without them falling asleep, so they still know how to self soothe.

      Hope that helps!

      Cole

      Like

Leave a Reply

