Twin Summary: 31 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 32nd week. They were 31 weeks old.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:40am Nurse, then down for Nap 1
10:30-11:00am Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 10:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 11am and then wake them)
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
3:30-4:30pm Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 3:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 4:30pm and wake them).
5:00pm Dinner
6:45pm Nurse, then bedtime
No MOTN feedings or wakings

Naps:
I have started to do something differently with the afternoon nap. Mercy always sleeps until I wake her up, almost without fail, but Sam wakes up around 3:30 about half the time. I have started getting him up a little after he wakes. I figure he has been in nap time for 2 and a half hours at that point so I might as well get him up. Sometimes it’s kind of nice to nurse them separately because I can multitask while I am nursing. I then wake Mercy up at 4:30 and either nurse her separately or just nurse Sam again. They go down for bed at the same time regardless of whether or not Sam woke earlier than Mercy.

Nights:
Nights are good. Nothing to note. They are usually awake when I go in at 7am but they are not even remotely upset. They are just laying there sucking their fingers.

Nursing:
This week they nursed A TON. They kept to the schedule as far as the number of times per day they were nursing, but they nursed for much longer and seemed to take in a lot more milk. Growth spurt? I don’t know. But I was HUNGRY.

Also, Mercy got her bottom teeth and did bite me once.

Feeling Overwhelmed:
I have been given the encouragement from twin moms that have gone before that the first year is the hardest. Some even say the first six months are the hardest. Honestly – I’m not trying to be all pompous here – but the first six months weren’t all that hard. They had their difficult moments, but I wouldn’t say it was all too different from having just one newborn.

But whoa.

Lately – just in the last month or so – the difficulty has really heightened. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that the babies are now eating solid food. It’s not that they eat super slowly – they don’t – but it’s just another thing to do in a time that can already be a little hectic (specifically lunch and dinner time). It’s more food to prepare and it’s another mess to clean up.

And while I’m on the subject of food, can I just take a minute to complain about the fact that every single party, event, or get together I’ve been to in the last month has required everyone to bring a food item? Ninety percent of these events are for moms of young children just like me. Isn’t it enough for us to cook for our own families? Why the heck are we preparing food to bring and feed each other? I mean come on. We should be able to get through a 2 hour bible study without a home baked pasty to nosh on. Amiright?

Anyway, back on the home front my older kids have really started eating a lot more and I’m finding that the dinners I used to make and be able to serve two nights and a row now only get us through one night. So in addition to providing baked goods for get togethers outside the home, I’m having to cook a lot more just to feed the six eaters in my own family. I know, I know, these are all total first world problems. My point is just that the easy phase of twinhood has clearly passed and I am feeling the effects of four young children.

Photo proof: Last week I literally sat on the toilet and simultaneously gave baths to the older two while feeding the younger two. I feel like my entire day is an art of multitasking and by the end of it, I’m POOPED. And yes, we use closepinned dishtowels for bibs.img_2549

Crawling:
By the grace of God, neither baby is crawling yet. This is actually quite shocking, if you knew how long Sam has been getting on his hands and feet and either rocking back and forth or just hanging out in plank position. HOW WILL I HANDLE MOBILE TWINS?

Well, that’s about enough complaining for the week. I’m off to enjoy the last quiet hour of nap time.

RELATED POSTS:

Twin Summary: 30 Weeks

Sample Schedules

 

 

4 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 31 Weeks

  1. Cole, you are just SO amazing and great at multi-tasking ! What a great idea to feed the twins while bathing the older two. It was so refreshing to realize that I’m not the only one who gets frustrated with all of the food-bringing to various events.

    Like

    • You too? I do enjoy eating a good breakfast every week at MOPs but honestly I don’t think it’s worth the stress involved when it’s my turn to bring food. I’d rather just eat before and go to drink coffee and socialize there!

      Like

  2. I am with you that the first six months were not at all as bad with twins as everyone told me they would be! I think the big issue with the second six months is starting solids. Two babies learning to eat is very time consuming and messy. I sometimes feel like my whole day is spent making food, helping babies eat, then cleaning up after. It can be frustrating! I am happy to report things are getting faster again. But really, how can two such little people eat so much? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

