Twin Summary: 32 Weeks

This is the summary for the babies 33rd week. They were 32 weeks old.

I spent a significant portion of last week’s twin summary whining about how hard my life is now that the babies eat food. I hate to admit this, but I found myself having to do some major self-talk all week to save my attitude from diving right down into the dumps of self-pity.

I know what you’re thinking. I think so too.

This girl is cra-azy! Doesn’t she realize how good she has it?!

As a matter of fact, I do. That’s where the self-talk comes in. My mind goes through this cycle where I get super overwhelmed and start feeling bad for myself on behalf of “my situation”, for example, the situation being that husband has had to work later lately and I am now on my own for dinner, bath, and bedtime multiple nights a week. Or my situation being that I scheduled everybody’s flu shot for the same day and discovered the physical inability to comfort four screaming children at once. Or my situation being that at meal time my 7 month olds scream if I don’t shove food into their mouth fast enough, my 2 year old repeats the exact same phrase in increasing decibels until I satisfy his request, and my 4 year old sits there sobbing because she spilled yogurt on her new jacket.

So I start to sulk. Woe is me! But then suddenly something will happen to snap me out of it and I’ll be like CHECK YOURSELF GIRLFRIEND. Take a look at the whole picture.

“My situation” is that I have four super healthy, super cute kids that I get to stay home and take care of each and every day. I have a husband who works HARD to make it happen and family to call when things get particularly hairy. Plus, thanks to babywise, all my kids are in bed at 7pm and my not-pregnant self can sit down on the couch and enjoy a glass of wine in peace (while I fold the endless laundry).

Life is GOOD.

Sometimes it’s just… a lot.

Nursing:
Nursing is the same. No more nursing pillow, no more back pain. I’m so glad I figured out that was the problem!

Naps:
Naps weren’t quite as consistent this week. Sam woke up about an hour into the afternoon nap 3 or 4 times. I left him there until 3:30 then got him up and nursed him separately. I woke Mercy up an hour later and nursed them together – so Sam got an extra feeding on those days. I’m not sure what is causing him to wake earlier all of a sudden. It’s possible he needs more time awake before that nap, but I’m not sure I’m willing to change the start time. It’s essential for my sanity that everyone goes down around 1pm. I suppose I will just keep doing the same thing and hope this issue works itself out.

Night time:
Totally uneventful. No night wakings and no early morning wakings. Absolutely perfect.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:45am Nurse, then down for Nap 1
10:30-11:00am Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 10:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 11am and then wake them)
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm-1:15pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
3:30-4:30pm Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 3:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 4:30pm and wake them).
5:00pm Dinner
6:45pm Nurse, then bedtime
No MOTN feedings or wakings

Crawling:
Sam has started army crawling. Yuck. I hate crawling. Most of the time I make them hang out in their play pen (pictured below. HOW CUTE IS IT?).

Other Milestones:
Sam responds to his name now. Mercy does not yet.

Crib Sharing:
The babies usually sleep together for about one nap a week – when we’re at MOPs or my sister’s house or something like that. This week they took two naps together. One nap went great but the other was a disaster. I ended up having to separate them because they kept picking at each other’s ears or rolling over on each other. I am hoping that’s not the start of a new trend. I really don’t want to have to take TWO pack and plays with me everywhere I go.

Twin Group:
Oh! Before I forget. I started a Babywise Twin group on Facebook so we can swap stories and problems. Do you have twins? Join our group here.

That’s it for this week. I am excited to celebrate our first Christmas as a family of 6 this week. Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

