Twin Summary: 33 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 34th week. They were 33 weeks old.

I am late to post this. Christmas just totally did me in, both physically and emotionally. This probably isn’t the right post to broach this subject, but our attempts to keep Christmas low key were ultimately thwarted and I ended the season feeling a little down. I’m not a joyless person – I LOVE Christmas and I used to love BIG Christmases, but I think it can easily become too much – too much for the kids and too much for me. It’s hard when both sides of the family live close – it creates substantial pressure to please everyone. I’m making a mental note to do things differently next year.

Specifically in terms of the babies, I had a good week. Last week I mentioned that dinner time was proving to be a bit of a daily rough patch. This week I really worked on developing a specific routine for the time frame between 4pm (when everyone gets up from naps) and 7pm (when everyone goes to bed). As long as I stay home and follow the routine exactly, things are calm and I am patient. When I try to deviate, things can easily go haywire. It’s depressing to feel confined to my home in the afternoons, but ultimately a peaceful home takes priority over any errand I need to run.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:45am Nurse, then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm-1:15pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
3:30-4:30pm Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 3:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 4:30pm and wake them).
5:00pm Dinner
6:45pm Nurse, then bedtime
No MOTN feedings or wakings

Nursing:
I was bit a couple of times this week. Not a lot, but we all know even one time is too many.

Naps:
Naps were predictable.

Nights:
They started leaking through their diapers at night so I moved them up to the next size.

Milestones:
Sam is sitting now. I never put him in that position to practice or anything, but one day I walked in the room and there he was, sitting up in the play pen. He is happier now that he can sit.

Christmas Gift:
My mom bought the babies these placemats for Christmas. I am excited to try them out! I hear only good things.

place mat.jpg
EZPZ Placemat

Also related to feeding, can anyone with the Ikea high chairs please explain to me how to get the trays off easily? I watched a youtube video where this lady just pulls them off with one hand, but I haven’t been able to get them off through any means other than prying with a screwdriver. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

Twin Summary: 32 Weeks

Leave a Reply

