Twin Summary: 34 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 35th week. They were 34 weeks old.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:45am Nurse, then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm-1:15pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
3:30-4:30pm Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 3:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 4:30pm and wake them).
5:00pm Dinner
6:45pm Nurse, then bedtime
No MOTN feedings or wakings

Sleeping:
Naps and nights are both great. Sam sleeps significantly less than Mercy, but he is generally content to wait in the crib until I get them both up. This is a benefit to doing naps by the clock. It drives me a little nuts when people are like “oh, mine will only nap for an hour at a time” because the fact is it’s the parent who sets the length of nap time. My twins are a clear example: one twin needs significantly less sleep than the other, yet they both “nap” for the exact same length of time.

Nursing:
There were a few days in a row where Mercy was very uninterested in both nursing and in eating. After that a little cold came on, so maybe she was just not feeling great.

It can get a little complicated when they want to nurse different lengths of time. You don’t have a lot of mobility with one baby still nursing, but you still have to keep the baby who is finished from wiggling themselves out of your arms and off the couch. Sometimes the baby who is done will start picking at the baby who is nursing – pulling at their ears or grabbing their hair – and it’s just a little awkward to keep control when you’re still nursing one baby.

Eating:
Sam eats a LOT. Mercy eats much less.

I tried finger foods a few times this week but it was a really frustrating experience. Both babies are easily upset when they fail to get the food in their mouth. They pretty much try once, fail, and then cry until I capitulate and come feed them myself.

The answer might be to just switch to finger foods exclusively and force them to figure it out, but I’m going to have to emotionally prepare myself for the volume of the crying that might require.

But gosh, it would be nice if they fed themselves.

Constipation:
I’m still fighting the constipation battle with Mercy. The probiotics don’t really seem to make a big difference. I have heard you can give babies small doses of miralax and I might give that google. Her poops are like little rocks. Super hard and apparently super painful to get out. Poor thing!

I guess I’ll finish on the poop note. I’m doing Whole30 this month which pretty much means I’m cooking all day every day. Back to the kitchen!

 

5 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 34 Weeks

  1. I’m not blog stalking you. I still have my computer open from this morning. haha Have you tried prunes? Plum organics prunes used to help Curren when he was constipated as a baby.

    Like

  2. I second the prune idea! For some reason I was always so paranoid about them getting constipated so I’d always give them prunes (usually cut into 4ths). Even now, they still love them! Lauren had it worse though and I’ll occasionally use a suppository on her. Do you have those on hand? They are convenient when you know they are in pain and need to poop. Can’t wait to hear more about whole30!

    Like

    • I don’t know why I didn’t think about prunes. I actually gave them to her in the beginning and they worked great, but somewhere along the line I stopped and completely forgot about it! I will pick some up next time I’m at the store!

      Like

  3. Ditto prunes! I cut them up little so the girls can eat them like raisins. One or two with breakfast kept them regular while they got used to solids. If the taste is too strong you can mix them in with actual raisins, as they look the same when they are cut up. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

