Twin Summary: 35 Weeks

This is a summary for the babies’ 36th week. They were 35 weeks old.

Not much changes from week to week anymore. I could probably stop doing these. And yet, I remember when I only had Vera that a combination of inexperience and a very difficult sleeper led me to frantically google “35 week baby schedules” then “36 week baby schedules” week after week. So perhaps there is some other slightly anal soul out there who this helps.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:45am Nurse, then down for Nap 1
11:00am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm-1:15pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
3:30-4:30pm Wake, Nurse (if they are awake, I get them up at 3:30, if they are asleep I let them sleep until 4:30pm and wake them).
5:00pm Dinner
6:45pm Nurse, then bedtime

Nursing:
Nursing is fine. I’m on Whole30 right now and I’ve heard some people say that can negatively impact milk supply (although the book says otherwise) but I haven’t noticed a change. Part of me thinks that the moms who say that are either severely under-eating on the diet or just using it as a convenient excuse to quit early. Dietary self-control is HARD.

Naps:
Naps are normal. Still taking a 2ish hour morning nap and a 3ish hour afternoon nap. Actually, sometimes the afternoon nap goes 3.5 hours and I still have to wake them. These two are definitely my best sleepers.

Nights:
Here’s something interesting I’ve noticed: Mercy can sleep through Sam’s cries (even super loud, super angry cries). But Sam cannot sleep through Mercy’s. This week Mercy woke twice in the night: one time I think she was cold and the other time she had peed through her pajamas. When I went in to see what was up, Sam was awake as well. This was a bummer, because then I had to listen to him scream for me to pick him up as he watched me change Mercy’s outfit on the floor. Sorry dude, I can’t hold you and change her at the same time. Plus, it’s 3am. Go back to sleep!

Anyway, I have determined that Sam is a lighter sleeper because from the beginning, he has been the crier. He rarely (if ever) cries before naps or at night now, but he is still quite fussy and spends a good amount of time each day upset. Mercy, on the other hand, rarely cries. I think she’s just listened to so much of his crying over her short little life that she’s learned to tune it out. That explains why when he wakes early from a nap and starts screaming or whatever, she just snoozes right on through it.

Eating:
I got fed up with spoon feeding this week so I decided to just plop their food right down on their try and make them feed themselves.

If there’s anything at mealtime that takes longer than spoon feeding two babies, it’s cleaning up the mess that ensues when you make those two babies feed themselves.

You really can’t win.

Milestones:
Sammy is crawling on hands and knees now. Not all the time, but much of the time. Mercy still lays there like a wet noodle.

Sibling Rivalry:
I’m having this problem where Sam harasses Mercy. He picks at her ears, he pulls on her hair, he climbs on top of her, and he sometimes even sits on her head. I’m not joking. It’s unfortunate for her because she is unable to move to get away from him, so she just lays there as he crawls all over her. I intervene and separate when I can, but I mean… is this normal? Is baby aggression a thing?

img_7207

RELATED POSTS:

Sample Schedules

Twin Summary: 34 Weeks

Leave a Reply

