Twin Summary: 39 Weeks

This is the summary for the babies’ 40th week. They were 39 weeks old. They turned 9 months this week.

This week I’ve been really feeling the four kid thing. Maybe it’s because my washer broke and I realized the quantity of laundry that’s done around here now that there are four. Maybe it’s because the babies eat A TON and I now have to make four peanut butter and jelly sandwiches at lunch time and prepare six plates of food at dinner. I also have to run the dishwasher three times every two days instead of two times every three days, which is what it was when I only had two children eating. I guess we’ve just reached the point where the babies aren’t cute little stationary objects anymore and they actually have an impact on our consumption as a family.

But I mean. What a blessing for this to be my life problem. That I have to make four peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Schedule:
We are still on the same schedule, but I am getting antsy about it. I know I should not be complaining here – and I’m really not – but the babes still nap around 5 and a half hours a day and that’s a lot of time to be home. The older two are going crazy. I send them outside as much as I can, but sometimes the aftermath of unleashing two active kids into a mud pit in the backyard is more cleanup than I can wrap my head around. Instead I have been focusing on leaving for the park as soon as everyone wakes up in the afternoon (or, more accurately, until I WAKE THEM UP) but that doesn’t give us much time. Anyway, I think this upcoming week I may focus on shortening the morning nap a bit so the afternoon nap shifts forward and we have a little more time in the late afternoon.

This is the beauty of a schedule. It serves the parent.

7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
11:00am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime (at 7pm)

Nursing:
I was just thinking yesterday about what my plans for nursing are. I hope to continue well past a year, but I don’t really want to be still nursing six times a day at that point. I envision more like three times a day at twelve months. That means in the next three months I need to drop three nursing sessions. I also probably need to get them drinking water. There’s no hard deadline – perhaps I will get to twelve months, still be nursing six times a day and feel totally happy with that, but right now my plan is to nurse less frequently by then.

Also on the subject of nursing, MOPs started up this week and the babes were old enough to go into child care (hallelujah!). I nursed them when they woke up in the morning like normal but the next two times I usually nurse were at MOPs and Mercy refused both times. I kept Sam on one side because I didn’t want him to drink all the milk and then have her suddenly get hungry, so this meant one side was emptied twice and the other side filled up for five hours (which, since we’re talking twins, is more like ten hours). It was pretty painful and I definitely woke up the next morning with a plugged duct. Ugh.

Crawling:
Sam is crawling like a pro and almost pulling up to standing. Mercy is army crawling. So here I have two moving babies.

Thankfully Vera is now strong enough to carry them so when I am trying to corral them and they keep scooting away she can help with the retrieval. I can see why some people intentionally have their kids three to four years apart. Four year olds are so helpful! How long until I can leave her in charge while I run to the store?

Bathtime:
The big news in bath time is that the babes are strong enough to reliably sit up in the bathtub so I can bathe all four together. It looks a little crowded to me but they all seem to think this is the most fun thing ever. Rub a dub dub.

01d77c0a9c64319ce58694e080144aa25b5a3d2039.jpg

Well Check:
The babes had their 9 month well check this week. They both gained weight well. Sam weighs more than Mercy now. No surprise there – he eats three times as much.

Both babes came up low on the hemoglobin finger prick test. The doc wasn’t concerned about it, but did order lab work to confirm the results of the finger prick. I thought about it and decided to wait on the lab work and just try to focus on incorporating more iron rich foods into their diet. They’ll have it tested again at their 12 month well check and if it’s still low I can reconsider the lab work, but for now I’ll save the 300 bucks or whatever it costs to run blood work times two.

 

2 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 39 Weeks

Leave a Reply

