Twin Summary: 40 Weeks

The twinkies are 41 weeks. This is the summary for their 40th week.

Did I mention last week that my washer broke? The new one still hasn’t arrived. Last night Mercy wore a onsie and formal tights to bed. My husband wore dirty underwear to work today. I dried off with a towel this morning that clearly had bacteria breeding in the fibers.

But the whole time I’ve been thinking, can you imagine life before washing machines? It seems impossible. It’s unquestionable – if I lived two hundred years ago I’d have to sacrifice at least two of my children on account of too much laundry.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:45am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-11:00am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00-1:30pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime (at 7pm)

Nursing:
I can’t explain this, but I feel like I had tons of milk this week. More than usual. Must be all the chocolate I’ve been eating.

Eating:
This week I was supposed to be pushing the iron-rich foods (to address the anemia issue). I did make lentils a few nights and threw some cereal their way each day, but otherwise it was kind of a normal week eating wise. I hope to be more diligent next week. In the meantime, I started taking an iron supplement since I inexpertly diagnosed myself with anemia-induced iron-deficient breastmilk. That’s a long (made-up) way of saying I’m following their anemia to the source and assuming their iron deficiency has something to do with the fact that I’m always anemic. I only inconsistently take iron because… well, I’m lazy. But this week I was totally on it.

Mercy no longer likes to be spoon fed. I put a spoon in front of her face and she turns her nose up like a snooty food critic. Sam will still eat anything in any which way. That explains why he’s growing wider faster than he’s growing tall.

Milestones:
Sam can pull to standing, but cannot get down himself. He gets quite frustrated. He pulls up and then pretty much just cries until he either accidentally lets go and falls down or I come put him down. I hope this stage passes quickly.

I don’t know if this is really considered a milestone, but they’ve started stealing each other’s toys. One will be gnawing on something and the other will just crawl right up and grab it. Crying ensues.

Oh! One last thing. I’m writing this down because I simply could not remember when I did this with my others, but I started leaving a blanket in the crib overnight with the babes. Previously I was just covering them at nap time.

Well, off to make some more lentils.

One thought on “Twin Summary: 40 Weeks

Leave a Reply

