Twin Summary: 43 Weeks

I am reading Leah Remini’s autobiography Troublemaker right now and just discovered that “twinning” is a Scientology term describing the relationship between two people who go through introductory Scientology course work together. “Twins” team up for drills like TR-0, Operating Thetan Confronting, which is basically where two people sit knee to knee and insult each other without showing any reaction. The process of taking the courses and doing the drills together is called “twinning.”

Ok. I just want to be super clear here that despite a greater than normal interest in the Scientology cult, I am NOT a Scientologist. I chose the blog name “twinning babywise” because I have twins and follow Babywise, not because LRH is my god.

Whew. Now that I cleared that up… suggestions for better blog names?

This is a summary for the babies’ 44th week. They were 43 weeks old.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:30am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:45am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Nursing:
Here we are at 10 months and I am still nursing 6 times a day. Is this normal? It feels like a lot. But I just don’t know what feeding I would drop if I wanted to drop one. The feeding before the morning nap probably makes the most sense timing-wise, but they actually eat better for that feeding than any other feeding of the day, so I don’t really want to drop it. I am leaning toward dropping the feeding after their morning nap. We are always scrambling to get out the door to the park or to run errands at that time, so it would be convenient to be able to just wake them up from their nap and immediately go.

But then, they still aren’t drinking water yet. I suppose THAT is the first step. I haven’t really pushed that because I don’t have any sippy cups, but perhaps it’s time to pick up a few and start working on getting them to drink something other than breast milk.

Sleeping:
Sleeping was normal. Perfect. At night they have been needing to go down a little earlier than normal – closer to 6:30 than 7 – but they still stay in their cribs contently until 7am.

Pink Eye:
Everyone got pink eye this week. First Abel, then Mercy, then Sam, and then Vera. And as I type this I’m realizing that my eye is starting to gunk up and I probably have it too. Gross. I suppose there is substantial cost savings in everyone getting it once though; all 5 of us can use the same prescribed antibiotic.

Haircut:
Sam has had a few haircuts before, but none have been able to fully address the issue of his bad hair. This weekend both boys needed a cut so we decided to just buzz his hair off and see how it looked. It couldn’t possibly get worse, so why not.

I actually think it turned out quite cute!

 

2 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 43 Weeks

  1. Everyone getting pink eye sounds terrible! But I’m so impressed you could make the prescription last for everyone. I always finished a whole supply for each human! (But I’m also terrible at successfully dropping the medicine into the eye.) Nursing 6x a day sounds normal to me. That’s what I did til I started to wean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

