BFBN Week: Discipline As Discipleship

You guys. I read today’s post from Carrie at Wiley Adventures and was like, duh.

I don’t mean “duh” like why’d you even bother to write that Carrie?.

I mean “duh” like I’ve been going about this whole thing the wrong way and it really should have been obvious to me.

“I think oftentimes, we as parents (myself included) are geared and maybe steered by society, to discipline to produce behavior either because we care so much about how we look to others or because it’s more convenient for us. The problem with both of those ideas is that they are still focused on the behavior instead of digging to the root. And if you just address the behavior and not the root, it’s not going to produce any kind of transformation. My ultimate goal as a parent, my only goal really, is lead my kids to follow after Jesus. Can I produce salvation in them? No I cannot. But I can be faithful to teach them about Jesus and His perfect word and about God’s ways. We can set the precedent in our home of faithfulness to follow after Him, and we can model those ways every day for our kids.”

Look, I have to spend all day every day with these four kids. For me, that’s motivation enough to whip them into some kind of shape. I want to actually enjoy being with them. But if I only work to produce the desired behavior, I miss the greater point. Focusing on the goal may not change my methods, but it definitely changes my motivation.

Reading Carrie’s post today was a bit of an “aha” moment for me. Click here to read what else she has to say about addressing the root of the behavior and using discipline as discipleship.

BFBNWaterMark
TWINNING BABYWISE
DISCIPLINE DELAY TACTICS
CHRONICLES OF A BABYWISE MOM
DISCPLINE WITHOUT SPANKING
WILEY ADVENTURES
DISCIPLINE AS DISCIPLESHIP
MAMA’S ORGANIZED CHAOS
KNOWING AND TEACHING THE FINAL DESIRED EXPECTATION
TEAM CARTWRIGHT
BIG FEELINGS: TALKING THROUGH TANTRUMS WITH YOUR CHILD
JOURNEY OF PARENTHOOD
WHEN IGNORING IS A BENEFICIAL PARENTING TOOL
LET’S BE BRAVE
DISCIPLINE IN FOSTER CARE
Leave a Reply

