Twin Summary: 44 Weeks

This is the summary for the babies’ 45th week. They were 44 weeks old.

Nursing:
I thought I would mention something about twins here that’s different. I nurse my twins far more often at night than I ever nursed the other two. I wouldn’t say it’s OFTEN, but maybe once every two weeks or so. With my first two, I don’t think I nursed them one time in the middle of the night after they started sleeping through between 4 and 5 months old. With the babies it’s different because it’s really my only defense against two crying babies.

What happens is this: one baby wakes up for some reason (they’re sick, they’re cold, they’re leg is stuck in the crib slats, whatever) and starts crying. I go in to see what all the fuss is about. I pick up the crying baby. The other baby sees me pick up the crying baby and starts crying because they too want to be picked up. So I pick up the second baby. This satisfies neither baby, because the rule for all children is that when they want to be held, they want to be held ALONE.

The only way to stop the two crying babies is to nurse them. If it ever became habitual (like they were waking up multiple times a week to nurse) I would stop, but as it stands – once every two weeks or so – I actually kind of like it. It’s peaceful and quiet and dark and it’s the just the sweetest way you can comfort two babies.

Time Change:
I know the semi-annual time change is a big deal in a lot of households, but honestly it just hasn’t ever been much of a disruption around here. I assume it’s because my kids are accustomed to going to bed when it’s light outside (hello black out curtains) and all made to stay in their rooms until I get them in the morning. Plus, I mean, they can’t tell time. So if they take an hour longer to fall asleep for the next week or something, who cares? It has no impact on our schedule.

Anyway, I did consider using the time change as a convenient time to shift everyone’s schedule thirty minutes later – making bedtime and the morning wake up time 7:30 instead of 7:00. This would give them more time to play outside now that it’s lighter later and give me more time to myself in the morning. Double win.

However, this year Eddie and I are in a small group with our church that meets one night a week at 7pm and in order to make that happen we have to put our kids to bed before we leave. We also put our kids down early on date nights. A 6:30 bedtime is more of a stretch if the normal bedtime is 7:30, instead of 7. So I decided we will keep the 7pm bedtime until our small group ends in May and then reconsider moving to a 7:30-7:30 schedule. It would be nice to have more time to be out and about in the summer!

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:30am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:45am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Colds:
These babies are always sick. I think there are a combination of factors including but not limited to them sharing everything (only one baby has to pick something up somewhere for them both to get sick) and them being the 3rd and 4th child. I feel bad for them – I mean, I start to get irritated when my congestion lasts four days… they’ve had this for four months! But, such is the life of a twin, I guess.

Crawling:
Mercy started crawling on her hands and knees today. So that makes two crawling babies. Now the question is how much oxy clean I’m going to go through before they learn to walk. Somehow even a newly washed floor leaves their pants looking like a dirty mop.

RELATED POSTS:

Twin Summary: 43 Weeks

 

Leave a Reply

