Twin Summary: 45 Weeks

FYI if you’re like when is she going to stop posting about these babies every single week the answer is when they are a year. I think at that point I can safely reduce the twin summaries to once a month and still not miss a thing. But I mean, at the same time, you’re the one reading this.

This is the summary for the babies’ 46th week. They were 45 weeks old.

Sick:
They are still sick. I think I mentioned they had pink eye two weeks ago. Well it came back. I got it again on round two as well. I assume it came back because a) I ran out of the medicine and they didn’t have the full 7 day dose and b) they are still sick so mucus drainage is still an issue.

I love how anytime you bring up pink eye with moms who know you’re nursing, they’re all like “just put some breast milk on it!”

First of all, I tried it and it didn’t work (also, note to self, babies do not like being squirted in the eyes with breast milk), but second of all, can we just reign in our expectations of the naturopathic benefits of breast milk a bit? Yes, human milk is the perfect beverage for human babies because it was specifically designed for them. But no, breast milk does not cure cancer. Or pink eye, for that matter.

Schedule:
We are still working with the same schedule. It’s weird because my last two babies dropped from two naps down to one mid-day nap around 13 months. Now I realize that’s a few months away, but considering the amount that these babies sleep there is no chance they will be doing that so soon. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad – we are in a really good morning groove so I don’t exactly mind, but it’s also nice to be able to get out for longer periods in the morning and not have to worry about nap time. I guess it just is.

7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:30am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:45am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Sleeping:
You know how I wrote last week that one or the other woke up in the night about once every two weeks and I could nurse them and it was fine? I totally ginxed it. The last 4 nights in a row Mercy has woken up, initially from sickness but presumably now out of habit. Tonight if she wakes I will probably go in and pat her butt or try to calm her with my voice, but I am going to stop the occasional MOTN nursing. I can’t be waking up every night here – I have too many children to take care of during the day!

Water:
I forget how you get a kid to start drinking water. I think I remember teaching Vera by putting juice in a sippy and giving it to her in the car. Juice provided the motivation and the car provided the boredom necessary for her to figure it out. I think Abel just knew intuitively. I don’t remember actively teaching him. But here we are with these babies, over ten months old and cannot drink water unless I force it into their little mouths. We will have to work on this. I cannot breastfeed forever and besides, giving them a peanut butter sandwich with no liquid to wash it down seems cruel.

Twin Stuff:
A few quick notes on the subject of twins:

  1. They sleep with their heads pointing toward each other. Even if I put them on the other side of the crib, facing the opposite direction, when I get them up from their nap they are both laying toward each other with their heads as close together as possible.
  2. They eat off each other’s plates. Always. Even though they have their own food on their own plate right in front of them.
  3. I am asked at least three times a week if they are identical. This surprises me, not because I clearly dress them as male and female, but because to me they look so different! I wonder if this is how mothers of identical twins feel too – like what do you mean you can’t tell them apart? They look totally different! In any case, I do hope the comments stop before they are old enough to comprehend what’s being said. It would be incredibly humiliating for a little boy to be asked if his 6 year old twin sister was his identical twin.

That’s it for this week. I’m off to the park for the afternoon. I have been trying to really take advantage of my last few weeks/months of being able to read at the park… the moment when the babies will no longer be content sitting in the stroller while the other two play is rapidly approaching and it will be several months (if not a year) after that before I can reasonably let them loose on a play structure without constantly watching. Boo.

IMG_1232

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

