Twin Summary: 46 Weeks

Of all the characteristics that distinguish my twins from each other, perhaps most notable is the composition of their booties.

Mercy has your typical baby butt. It’s soft, dimpled, and fatty throughout. When tapped, it jiggles like loose jello.

In complete contrast, Sam has the bottom of an Olympic athlete. It’s tense and tightened – almost like he’s continuously poised for a baby body building competition. No joke, it’s the most muscular butt I’ve ever seen or felt on a baby – not that I go around feeling baby behinds all the time – but have you ever touched a baby’s butt and thought “WOAH! That baby has a butt like Arnold Schwarzenegger!” No? That’s my point.

Anyway, something worth noting.

This is the summary for the babies’ 47th week. They were 46 weeks old.

News of the Gross:
I’m almost embarrassed to tell this story because it probably makes you wonder if I actually bathe or care for my children, but let me assure you, my house is (mostly) clean and my children are not neglected on any level.

Moving on from that disclaimer, I found a live animal nestled in my ten month old’s ear lobe and I am now certain it was there at least six weeks, if not longer.

How did this happen?

About two months ago I noticed a dark brown, flat piece of something on Sam’s ear (the back side of the lobe). The first day I thought it was food. I tried to pick it off but it was pretty stuck on there so I figured it could wait until bathtime. Naturally, at bath time I forgot about it being there. A few days later I noticed it again and tried to pick at it, but it wasn’t coming off so I figured it was a skin tag. At this point it was about the size of a grain of rice and it was mole colored. So I just left it there and meant to ask about it at the babies’ 9 month well check.

The well check came and went and I forgot to ask about it. So a week later when I again noticed it, I decided to start picking at it again. This time it came off. How weird! It must have been a scab, I thought.

Last week the scab was back though – again the size of a grain of rice. I left it alone and planned to bring it up at my 4 year old’s well check appointment, but forgot, so I decided instead to do some investigative work on my own. I grabbed the thing with both fingers and yanked. Got it! I put it in the palm of my hand to get a closer look and IT STARTED CRAWLING.

Gross.

So gross.

After furiously googling this, I can only deduce that whatever it was WAS NOT a bed bug and WAS NOT a carpet beetle. I am thinking it was a tick, but it wasn’t oval shaped like that – it was definitely more flat and thin. The legs were tiny and ran along the body like a caterpillar. So what the heck was it???

The first time I removed it I must have just broken part of it off and it grew back. This time I think I got the whole thing, but who really knows. Could there still be some buried in there?

Anyway. If this has ever happened to someone else, please speak up.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:30am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:45am Wake, Nurse
12:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Sleeping:
I mentioned last week that Mercy had started to wake up in the middle of the night out of habit and wanted to nurse. I decided I was going to have to stop going in. Well, she must have sensed my resolve because that night she didn’t even wake up. The next night she woke once but fussed for like a minute before quieting down. She is back to sleeping through now. It sure doesn’t always go that way, but man that was easy.

Also on the Subject of Sleeping:
Last week I also mentioned that the babes like to wriggle to the corner of the crib so they are as close together as possible. This week they were both sleeping when nap time was over so I was able to capture the arrangement so you can see:

IMG_0633.JPG

Nothing else eventful happened this week. Just keepin on, keepin on.

 

3 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 46 Weeks

Leave a Reply

