Twin Summary: 48 Weeks

This is the summary for the babies’ 49th week. They were 48 weeks old.

Nursing:
I have officially nursed the babies longer than I nursed either of my other two. I have no plans to stop… although I still think the point at which I will cut back to 4x a day is coming soon. Maybe when they turn one.

Sleeping:
We had a disruptive weekend sleep-wise. On Saturday I woke them up early from their nap so we could leave the house and on Sunday we were at my Aunt’s house and they didn’t take an afternoon nap at all. There’s not much I could do about it, but I am definitely paying the price. The last two nights they have woken up in the middle of the night and today they are resisting their afternoon nap. Bleh. I will put them down for bed early again tonight and hopefully by tomorrow they will be back on track.

Eating:
I am tired of cleaning up after two babies three times a day. I can see why parents fall into the trap of giving their kids squeeze pouches and goldfish for every meal.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:45am Wake, Nurse
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Girls Like Dolls and Boys Like… Toilets?
I’ve always thought it is interesting how girls and boys generally gravitate toward different toys at such a young age, but it’s perhaps even more interesting this time around because I get to watch a girl and boy of the same age, in the same environment, with the same toys available develop so differently.

Mercy already loves dolls. She likes to pick them up, kiss their face, and pat their back or butt. Sometimes I swear I’ve even heard her say “shhhh shhhh shhhhhhh”.

Sam couldn’t care less about dolls, unless Mercy has one and he wants to take it away for sport. Instead he spends his time tirelessly trying to get his hands into the toilet bowl without me noticing and throwing toys across the room (we’re working on that).

What an interesting human biological experiment to watch these two grow into such different people!

One thought on “Twin Summary: 48 Weeks

  1. I hadn’t thought about that experiment you get to witness! That’s so fun and so sweet! Although Lauren was my baby who loved pulling up at the toilet and splashing around. SO GLAD that phase is over.

    Like

Leave a Reply

