Twin Summary: 49 Weeks

This weekend was the babies’ first Easter. We were at my sister in law’s house for the day and despite my best efforts, the babes did not take a nap. Neither did my 2 year old, who still very much needs a good 2-3 hours every day.

Today I am paying for it. Everyone is overtired and it’s manifesting itself in tantrums, tears, and A LOT of whining.

The upside, if there is one, to days like this, is that all day I look forward to an early bedtime. I am working hard to get all the laundry, cleaning, and cooking done this afternoon so I can get these kids down by 6pm and have a quiet dinner and long evening with my husband. Silver linings.

This is the summary for the babies’ 50th week. They were 49 weeks old.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-10:45am Wake, Nurse
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Nursing:
Eddie saw me nursing the other day and was like “they look like they’re getting a little old for that.” Whaaaaaaat? No. They are not too old. I’ve seen pictures of people tandem nursing 2 and 3 year old twins, and THAT looks too old. But 11 months is not too old. I just hope at some point between now and age 3 I feel compelled to stop.

On the other hand, the top teeth are coming in on both babies and I think it’s affecting the way they nurse. They aren’t BITING, but it’s almost like each time they suck the top teeth are lightly grazing my nipple. After a while, it begins to feel like they are sandpapering them. Ouch! Hoping that goes away soon.

A Note About Twins:
I was googling something about conceiving twins yesterday when I stumbled upon a few forums where someone would post asking if anyone had tips or tricks that would increase their chances of having twins.

Overwhelmingly, the responses to their questions were “DO NOT WISH FOR TWINS! TWINS ARE SO HARD! I WOULDN’T WISH TWINS ON ANYONE!”

It was so sad to read! Part of me started worrying about what lies ahead for me – could toddler twins really be that bad? But mostly I just felt sad for the original posters whose dreams of having twins were totally annihilated by pessimistic twin moms.

So for anyone reading this who dreams of one day having twins, don’t let the naysayers squash your dream. Twins are THE BEST. THE BEST! Don’t let anyone convince you otherwise.

Happy Easter, y’all

0130846d61d523fe422f428399daee370800c0e20b0110d85780308e859fa7c13990ba87b2c6358fb191

 

Leave a Reply

