Twin Summary: 50 Weeks

At this point the babies definitely know and dare I say love each other. Little things happen to prove this all the time.

For example, one day Sam got a little swat on the hand for sticking his fingers in the toilet bowl (which he clearly knows he is not allowed to do). He sat down on the bathroom floor crying (not hurt, but definitely offended). Mercy, who had been sitting in the hallway sucking on a spatula, stopped what she was doing, crawled into the bathroom, and started patting Sam on the back until he stopped crying.

You can’t make this stuff up.

This is the summary for the babies 51st week. They were 50 weeks old.

Nursing:
I dropped one feeding this week – the 10:45/11am feeding after the morning nap. I know if you look at the schedule it doesn’t really make sense to drop this one first, but it’s just the most inconvenient. We leave the house at that time almost every single day and it’s so much easier to pick the babies out of their crib and put them directly in the car. Since I don’t have to nurse now, I can have the other two already in the car and everything all packed up before I go to get the babies. This maximizes our time outside the house before the afternoon nap.

So now I am nursing 5 times a day. The next feeding I will drop is the 4:30pm feeding following the afternoon nap. That feeding is already interfering with the before bed feeding. They nurse at 4:30, then eat dinner at 5:30, and come 6:30 they aren’t nursing very well. But I want to let my body adjust to the first dropped feeding before I go dropping any other feedings.

Sleeping:
Sleeping is good. There were a few rough days this week and I put them down for bed at 6pm or even a little before and they slept all the way through until 7am when I got them up. That’s a long time! Maybe they are going through a growth spurt?

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-10:45am Wake
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Teeth:
Sam still only has 3 teeth, but I can see his 4th (the second front top tooth) will be coming in soon. Mercy also has 3, but it’s the two bottom and one of the lateral incisors, not one of the front teeth. It looks a little odd.

Speaking of teeth, the other day I was in the kitchen and I noticed Mercy chewing on something so I bent down to investigate. I put my finger in her mouth and out pops a clove of garlic, still in it’s paper. Who knows how long she had been sucking on it for, but she had garlic breath the entire day.

Theories on Sickness:
I have noticed (not just with the twins, but when the other two were babies as well) that my babies get sick without fail every single time we go to MOPs. (MOPs, for those who don’t know, is a mom’s group that meets at local churches). MOPs is only twice a month, eight months a year, so it’s easy to see the pattern.

We put the babies in child care during church services every week – and they are literally in the same exact room they are in for MOPs, but they do not seem to pick up sicknesses from Sunday church – only from MOPs. Why is this? I have a theory.

When kids are sick, people stay home from church. I’m sure they don’t want to infect other kids, but it’s also a nice excuse to enjoy a relaxing Sunday morning at home. When it comes to MOPs, moms are so desperate for the kid-free social time that they are willing to overlook anything but the worst sickness to be there. So every week we go to MOPs, there is bound to be at least one kid who is probably too sick to be there. Then of course the babies share the toys they slobber on and the sickness passes to everyone in the room.

I assume this is the same reason kids that go to day care are often sick. Parents aren’t able to miss work for mild sicknesses, so they dose a little Tylenol and drop their kids off.

Interestingly, my theory also works out when looking at gym child care. I don’t have a gym membership anymore, but when I did, my kids rarely seemed to pick up any sickness from there. Why? Because just like with church, moms are willing to use moderate sickness as an excuse to skip the gym.

Admittedly, I am not above putting my snotty nosed kid in MOPs child care. But an interesting observation nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

