Twin Summary: 51 Weeks

You know how you reach a point where all of a sudden you’ve just HAD ENOUGH and simply cannot change ONE.MORE.DIAPER.

Normally this is when you throw up your hands and declare IT’S TIME FOR POTTY TRAINING!

Unfortunately, due to the unavoidable fact that I am changing double the diapers, I have reached that point a bit prematurely. I have the feeling of being DONE without the ability to actually do something about it. Potty training twin twelve month olds is beyond my capacity right now, if it’s even possible.

A downside of having twins, I suppose.

This is the summary for the babies’ 52nd week. They were 51 weeks old.

Nursing:
Dropping the 11am feed (after the am nap) has been a little more difficult than I anticipated. They are fussy from the time they wake up until lunch time. I could offer them a snack, but I don’t want to get in the habit of offering snacks. Plus, it seems completely reasonable that they go from 9am (when I nurse them) to 11:30 or 12 without eating anything. Perhaps they just need more time to re-calibrate their appetites.

Also on the subject of nursing, my sister and I tried to nurse each other’s babies this week. You might think that’s weird, but I think most sisters in our position would want to at least try it.

Her baby (2.5mo) latched on to me right away but it took so long for my milk to let down that she was half asleep from the sucking. Then once the milk came, it came far too fast and she started choking, so there wasn’t any time to see if she noticed a difference in the milk.

My babies didn’t even get that far. We sat them up in the way I typically nurse them and pulled up her shirt. They didn’t even seem to know what they were supposed to do! Sam put his mouth to her nipple and sucked once or twice, but then pulled off, quite perplexed. It does, apparently, matter where the milk comes from.

Sleeping:
Sleeping was good. No changes. Still sleeping more than seems normal for their age.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-10:45am Wake
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Lifting Babies:
I don’t know how much they weigh exactly, but these babies have gotten quite heavy and it is difficult for me to carry both for anything longer than a moment.

One of these kids has to start walking soon so I can stop with the double-duty carrying.

Which One is Which?
I am working on our 2016 photo book right now. I was looking at pictures from the day the babes were born – almost exactly one year ago – and… I can’t even tell them apart in all the photos. Ha! Isn’t that sad? It would be one thing if they were identical twins, but to me they have always looked so different. It’s mostly the right-after-birth photos that leave me questioning who’s who. They are both swollen and under all that gunk. I guess it goes to show, all newborns really do look the same.

Pool Days:
This week brought some pretty warm weather, and we got to enjoy a little time in the pool. Who’s taking drink order here? Can someone get these guys a pina colada?

0122611ec4fb21c3c2778461bc0c71b04514675029.jpg

 

 

3 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 51 Weeks

  1. That’s so funny about the nursing thing! I’m not surprised that the twins wouldn’t nurse, but I bet they would if they had done that weekly from when they were little? Maybe? Such a funny experiment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

