Toddler Summary: 32 Months

This is not my favorite stage.

Obviously, I love the boy, but the stage.

Blehh.

Where is my sweet, gentle, quiet child?

Hiding deep, deep, deep below the layers of high pitched, uncontrolled, get up under your skin WHINING, that’s where.

We’re working on it. But it feels slow going. I am impatiently looking forward to the day we look back and say “remember when Abel used to whine all the time and it nearly made me lose my mind? Ha! Glad that’s over.

This is the summary for Abel at 32 months (that’s 2 years, 8 months).

Schedule: 
7:15am Out of room
7:30am Breakfast
7:45am Chores (see below for list)
8:15am Get dressed, then silent reading time and/or play time
9:30am Independent Playtime
10:30am Clean up, get ready to leave house
10:45am Errands, park, or play outside
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nap
4:00pm Up from nap, go outside
5:00-5:30pm Dinner
6:00pm Bath, get ready for bed
6:30pm Read
7:00pm Bedtime

Eating:
Eating is good. Last time I mentioned he had become quite picky. We worked on that and he is back to eating a variety of foods. Sometimes he initially refuses dinner, but since he has to sit at the table until everyone is done, he gets bored and eventually starts eating his food.

Sleeping:
Sleeping is a little wonky. He wakes up VERY early in the morning. When I get up at 5am, it is not unusual for him to already be awake. I only know this because I can see through the bottom of the door that he has gotten out of bed and opened the shutters to let the light in. He is quiet until I come get him at 7:15am.

Naturally, having woken up at 5am, he is very tired come nap time. He naps well, but is still tired come the end of nap time. By 6:30/7, he is eager to go to bed.

Have you ever heard of a 2 year old being eager to go to bed? It’s strange. Sometimes when I’m tucking him in I like to lay down right next to him for a minute and stroke his face and in the middle of me feeling the love and soaking up the moment he’ll interrupt and say mom? can you leave? 

He knocks out quickly for bed no matter how early I put him down, but then is up the next morning at 5. Oh well. Not much I can do. Hopefully it all gets worked out before he starts sharing a room with Sam.

Chores:
After breakfast comes chore time. We have fallen into a really good routine whereby I don’t even have to ask them to do the chores – they just start doing them. Abel’s chore list is quite simple:

  1. Clear the table
  2. Empty the small trashcans into the big kitchen trashcan
  3. Pick up and throw away any food under the babies’ high chairs
  4. Make bed
  5. Assist Vera in unloading the dishwasher

Making the bed doesn’t require my physical help, but it does necessitate a few rounds of

“Mom! I’m done with my bed!”
(checks room)
“No Abel, that’s not good enough. Try again”

I am sometimes frustrated by his inability to get it right the first time. He knows what the expectation is and he is clearly able to achieve it eventually, so I can grow tired of repeatedly checking the bed and telling him it’s not good enough. In these moments I have to remind myself that he’s TWO. Relax, woman, you’re not going to be dictating bed making instructions when he’s ten.

There are no set chores the rest of the day except to clean up messes as needed. He is good about this. It is nice to have two workers that can pick up all the toys. I don’t think I’ve cleaned up a toy mess in six months!

Whining:
Boy, oh boy. It’s BAD.

I have tried all kinds of tactics. I have asked multiple people for advice. Here is what we’ve kind of settled into doing:

When it comes to a whiney tone (Plllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeease? Cannnnnnnn IIIIIIIIII?) I generally just ask him to restate his request, either with the phrase “try again using your big voice” or simply “turn off the whining.”

When it comes to whining about instructions (I don’t wannnnnnnnnt to. Do I haaaaaaave to?! Pleeeeeeeeease) we have started using a chair facing the fireplace. I sit him down there and tell him that when he whines, he is not showing self control with his voice (or his body, if there was a foot stomping or tantrum involved). I tell him “this is the chair where you learn to show self control” and then make him sit there, quiet, facing the fireplace for a certain length of time. I guess for all intensive purposes this is a time-out, but I don’t use that phrase because I don’t think he’d have any idea what it meant. Using the phrase “showing self control” and explaining how sitting still in the chair will teach him that seems to be more clear to him. He does not get up from the chair when I tell him to sit there, but if he did, he does understand that he would be spanked.

If it’s a particularly rough day and I find myself using the chair over and over again, I just put him to bed.

I cannot say that these methods will work, but I thought it worthwhile to record what we are trying.

Thumb-Sucking:
Abel’s had buck teeth for quite some time. Actually, I’m pretty sure they just grew in that way. But in the last few months, his teeth have become so bucked out that he cannot comfortably close his mouth and I often spot him drooling.

Poor guy. I can’t let him go off to school like that. The buck teeth is one thing – I’m sure lots of kids have them – but how will he ever make friends if he’s drooling all over the place? Something must be done.

I am planning to start fighting the thumb-sucking battle this month. Thankfully he doesn’t suck his thumb during the day – only at night. I plan to start with the this Mavala liquid and hope for the best.

Fighting with Sister:
Abel has found his voice and no longer tolerates being bossed around by his older sister. This has resulted in a significant increase in fighting. Somehow the fighting bothers me a lot less than the whining problem. Mostly I just remind them to be kind to each other (repeating Ephesians 4:32 throughout the day) and suggest ways to work things out between themselves. When it gets bad, I separate them.

The only thing that really gets under my skin is tattling. For the most part they seem to have learned that tattling on each other gets them nowhere so it doesn’t seem to happen very often anymore.

This Boy Loves His Mama:
Abel sure does know how to treat a lady. He still regularly tells me I’m beautiful and that whatever I made for dinner is the best thing he’s ever eaten. He voluntarily gives me kisses and never do a few days go by without him telling me he loves me.

Toys:
Honestly, it would be hard to come up with a list of favorite toys because I don’t find either of my older two really play with any toy that much. Is that normal?

When he’s outside (which is A LOT), Abel is most often playing with sticks or Eddie’s old punching gloves.

When he’s inside, Able is usually playing “family” with Vera, which might involve a baby doll, a doctor set, car keys, or items from the play kitchen. During Independent Playtime he plays with his dinosaurs.

Lately he has wanted to wear a cape and mismatched socks for the majority of his waking hours.

0130846d61d523fe422f428399daee370800c0e20b

RELATED POSTS:

Toddler Summary: 28 Months

Sample Schedules

3 thoughts on “Toddler Summary: 32 Months

  1. When your children are fighting and its time to separate them, what do you do? I am not sure what to do with mine when this happens. We have a very small house and the only places to play are in our small living room or in their bedrooms. If I send one to their room and leave the other in the living room, the one being sent away feels like they are the only one being punished, but if I send them both to their rooms it starts to feel like a repeat of independent playtime. What would you do? Winter is coming for us and I can see the squabbling starting to increase.

    Like

    • That’s a good question! My older 2 don’t share a room, so I do often send them to their own bedrooms. And you’re right – it is like a repeat of independent playtime, but I feel like that’s really what they need in those situations! Alone time.

      Sometimes I will send just one to play in their room (if one is more a source of the problem than the other) or send one outside and keep one inside. I totally get what you’re saying – you don’t want it to seem like a punishment for one and not the other – but I’m just not sure there is a way around that other than making sure that’s not how you present it. Maybe you could even give them the choice: “you two aren’t being kind in the way you are playing with each other, so you need to take a break from each other and play alone for a while. One of you can play in your room with the dress up and one of you can play in the family room with the legos. Do you want to decide or should I?”…. could something like that work??

      Like

  2. Yes, good idea! I’m going to try that. I especially like the way you phrased that – it sounds like your giving them a choice about what they do (they feel like they are still in control and getting to choose) – but they still cant say no to the separation itself! (And that is what I want, and will enforce if they don’t choose). Great, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

