Twin Summary: 52 Weeks (12 Months, One Year!)

Things that happened this week:

-I found a chewed up cockroach in Sammy’s mouth.
-I failed to rediaper quickly enough after bathtime and two accidents happened within 30 seconds of each other.
-I watched my friend’s kids so her and her husband could have a date night and just when I threw in the towel and put on a movie the power went out.
-Sam took one, tiny independent step, then reverted back to crawling.
-We car shopped for minivans. Minivans!
And best of all, these babies turned ONE.

This is the summary for the babies’ 53rd week – they were 52 weeks (ONE YEAR!) old.

Nursing:
Nursing has taken a weird change. Sam is not super interested anymore. Sometimes he will nurse for 1-2 minutes and then pull off and be done and sometimes he will not nurse at all. Is this self-weaning? I am never really sure what to do with Mercy then. Do I let her finish on her side and then move her over to his (so it feels even) or do I just keep her on the one side and deal with the lopsidedness until the next feeding when I swap their starting boobs? Should I try feeding them separately? Would it be weird to nurse her 5x a day and him only 3x? I guess that’s what I’m doing now anyway.

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-10:45am Wake
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:30pm Wake, Nurse
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Doctor’s Visit:
Both babies failed the Autism screening. No surprise there – my other two did as well. It doesn’t mean they have Autism (I am 0% concerned that they do), it just means they are developmentally behind other kids their age in ways that would flag them to participate in the UCSD Autism study. I did enroll Vera and Abel in the study after they failed their screening and it was really interesting to be part of but unfortunately at this point I just don’t have the time or energy required to participate with the twins. I’m trying to be realistic about what I can handle.

The pediatrician said that delayed development is not genetic, but that seems hard to believe considering I’m now 4 for 4 on that.

In other news, both babies are growing well. They are still smaller than my other kids were at their age, but are in the 50thish percentile. Sam’s hemoglobin was still low (Mercy’s was not this time) and again the doctor ordered a blood test. If he’s anemic I obviously I want him on iron, but I’m still reluctant to spend the $150 or whatever it costs for a blood test that’s going to show exactly what the (free) finger prick did. I suppose since he has been low (marginally) twice in a row (9mo and 12mo) perhaps I should go do the blood test. Gah!

Birthday Party:
We had a party on Saturday to celebrate the big day. Family, cake, and a pinanta. Happy first birthday, Samuel & Mercedes!

IMG_7259

One thought on “Twin Summary: 52 Weeks (12 Months, One Year!)

Leave a Reply

