Twin Summary: 13 Months

I have to admit, as I’m sitting here writing this, I’m eating in a bowl of cookie dough ice cream. It’s 1pm and I’ve been thinking about said bowl of ice cream since 11am, but I had to wait until my kids were all napping before I partook. You know how it is. You pop one tiny chocolate chip into your mouth and thirty seconds later the whole crew is at your feet chirping for a bite. Anyway, here I sit with my ice cream thinking it’s good to be an adult. So good.

The babes are 13 months. Here’s what’s happening:

Schedule:
7:00am Wake, Nurse
7:15am Breakfast
8:50am Nurse, then down for Nap 1 at 9am
10:30-10:45am Wake
11:30pm Lunch
1:00pm Nurse, then down for Nap 2
4:00-4:30pm Wake
5:30pm Dinner
6:30-6:50pm Nurse, then bedtime

Nursing:
I am nursing 4 times a day now: when they wake up, before both naps, and before bed. There were also two or three times during the month that I nursed in the middle of the night because both babies had ear infections and it was my only defense against simultaneously crying babies.

Mercy likes nursing. As time goes on, she likes it more and more. Even after the milk is gone she will lay there sucking and cuddling. She will also sometimes want to nurse outside of our normal times. Not everyday, but some days. Sam is more of the get ‘er done type. He nurses for a quick minute or two, pops off, and gets in the way while I try to continue nursing Mercy. Honestly, I want to stop nursing him. I’m not even sure he would care. I just feel guilty continuing to nurse one twin and not the other. Is that showing preference? But I do have a preference. I like nursing one and I don’t like nursing the other.

I still don’t have my period back. I know you were all wondering about that (hi dad!). I just think it’s interesting what a range of normal there is. Supposedly if you follow ecological breastfeeding you can stave off your period for two years or more, but I don’t fit within almost any of the ecological breastfeeding parameters, so in my case it’s just luck.

Sleeping:
The babes still sleep great. No signs of dropping the morning nap. There were a handful of nights this month that they woke in the middle of the night with a fever, but otherwise sleeping was normal.

We have started skipping the morning nap once a week so we can go to the 9am service at church (previously we napped them at home and then went to the 11am). They do great. I put them down right after lunch (around 11:30) and they sleep until 4ish.

Eating:
They eat well. I wouldn’t say they eat everything, but they eat a fair amount. I am just continuing on with my strategy of never offering an alternative, and I’m sure any pickiness will work itself out over time. For some reason, the food on the other twin’s tray always looks more appealing to them. A lot of stealing and swapping goes on – which probably explains why they are always sick together.

01783a25545819ebc02ff5d748dbffe3a222b6a949.jpg

Ear Infections:
I mentioned in my Year In Review post that one of the worst parts about having twins is when they are both sick. I changed my mind. It is one of the worst parts about having twins.

I’m not the type to rush to the doctor when kids have a little cold (hello $150 per kid, per visit charge) so by the time I decided I needed to take these babies in for a suspected ear infection, they were pretty miserable. I called at 8am but the soonest appointment was 5pm, which left me with a full day to spend kicking myself for not calling the day prior. It was pretty bad. There was a lot of crying. I did my best, but truthfully there just isn’t a way to adequately soothe two babies at once.

FYI, for anyone with twins who has contemplated doing this, you unfortunately cannot just make an appointment for one of the twins and have both twins checked out. I mean, they’ll look at the other one, but if there is a problem that requires antibiotics, they make you “check in” the other baby before they will prescribe anything. It’s the doctor’s office’s way of saying thank you for your business, NOW PAY UP.

Anyway, the antibiotics seemed to work at first, but we’ve finished the 10 day course and now they have all the signs back: runny nose, low fever, etc. Hopefully it’s just a cold and not round 2 of the infection.

Walking: 
Sam is nearly walking. He will take the 1-2 steps required to get from the coffee table to the couch, for example. Anything further and he sits down to crawl. We tried bribing him to walk with chocolate (that’s how bad I need at least one of these babies walking) but no dice.

Mercy doesn’t even pull up to standing. Her body still has the composition of a toasted marshmallow, so it could be a while.

01c9fbab43ef00d651bad2529e3941ffea98a10a9c

Independent Playtime:
I’ve started the progress toward doing a structured independent playtime with the babes. It has the look and feel of independent playtime, but it’s just not quite independent yet. I put them in their playpen with a few toys for 15-30 minutes a day – usually in the morning. I guess it’s independent of me, which is what I care most about, but eventually I know I will need to separate them and provide some structured alone time. Hey, it’s a step in the right direction.

How many pictures do you have to take to get a good one?
Now that I don’t have an iphone, I don’t take as many pictures. Every once in a while I try to get all four together and capture the moment. I spend enough time on Facebook to know that some moms have figured out how to get all their kids stationary and smiling for a photo. HOW DO THEY DO IT? This is the best I got. We won’t be winning any awards.

IMG_7376IMG_7379IMG_7382 (2)IMG_7381IMG_7383 (2)

3 thoughts on “Twin Summary: 13 Months

  1. You aren’t alone on the picture thing. I don’t know how some moms do it either! I go for quantity and hope for the best. None of my kids like to look at the camera at the same time. Of course just getting them to hold still is a challenge too! 🙂

    Like

  2. And I’m here stuffing popcorn in my mouth while my babes nap.
    All four of us were sick last week. Being sick myself and then being up with the toddler all night was NOT fun!

    Like

  3. I think your pictures of the 4 of them are great! So realistic.
    Also let Sammy run off, and nurse Mercy as long as she and you want!
    I nursed Megan for 2 1/2 years and she is doing pretty well. Rachel seemed done at 13 months.
    You know both of them so you can be the judge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

